We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely place - book ahead!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amor de Mar
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place - book ahead!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very nice place just outside the Montezuma center, a 5-10 minute walk to the south. They have many different options depending on your preferred standard, from 40 USD w/o AC up to over 100 USD for cabinas with view. Front lawn faces the ocean and there is a natural tide water pool for cooling off. The town beach is in the village center, further northwest are other beaches, around a 20 min walk away. Breakfast is not included but available "a la carte" in the morning.

Friendly and helpful staff - especially the night guard!

Don't miss restaurante a las artistas about 5 min. walk from Amor del mar. Beutiful views and lovely food.

Would definitely stay at Amor de Mar again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jossan_karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    85
    33
    12
    8
See reviews for
49
207
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Lovely, simple, nice atmosphere. Amazing views! Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

What I loved about this hotel was the view, hammocks and chilled out feel- the ou. Only thing I wasn't impressed with some of the staff.. Some were ok but others could be really offish. They would be stood for ages chatted and then look annoyed that you interrupted them to ask them for something.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmanusemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

I have to concur with previous reviews that this hotel is on a great property- right on the ocean (though you can't swim there, too rocky). Lots of chairs and hammocks complete the beachy scene.

However, we were in a nicer room (#9) and even though we checked in late so plenty of time was allowed to set up the room, the sheets on both beds felt "wet." Gross. This is probably due to the lack of windows- there are only wooden bars with chicken- wire screening over them to keep out bugs and it is super humid. The towels in the bathroom smelled like mold and there was an awesome sewage- like smell coming from the shower drain.

Price does not include breakfast, which is about $14pp. Love the location, but the smell of the room and the wet sheets definitely soiled our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lleClerc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

I love this place, spent 4 nights in one of the two beautiful houses.

Pros -
Absolutely beautiful location with gardens, ocean view, and an awesome tide pool for swimming.
Price is quiet fair for what you get.
Tasty breakfast.
Houses are wonderful, spacious, with great decor, and amenities.

Cons -
Staff is pretty good, but at times a little overbearing. A security guard asked us to be quiet one night at 10 PM, but the night before I heard loud people at the hotel around midnight. This also happened to me the last time I stayed here.
AC would be nice, it gets hot here.
Breakfast not included, and the $15 Sunday breakfast buffet seemed to be overpriced.

My cons may seem a little harsh, but they are kind of nitpicking, I really love this place, and was a bit sad when it became time to leave.

Room Tip: If you are with a group, consider the houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flexabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We only stayed one night here because the room we wanted was only available for one night. Here's what we liked:
- the view and landscaping was stunning - some of the most beautiful i've seen in costa rica - right on the ocean
- the service was great - Corina was very nice, as was the security man who let us into our room (we arrived late)
- the room & shared bathroom were nice, and clean
- location: nice and close to the waterfall hike (right across the street!)
- location: quiet, as you're just a tiny bit out of town

The only things that we would have improved are:
- our room was a bit small - for the same price we had a MUCH larger room, with private bathroom, at a different place the next night
- no communal kitchen - this was something we really needed as we were trying to save money

Overall we really loved it and wished we could've stayed longer! The view was really amazing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowballie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

A beautiful gem in Costa Rica! We stayed in room #9 and would recommend paying a few extra dollars for a room facing the water. It's a very beautiful, casual and relaxing environment. Montezuma is a great litle town with really good places to eat! We liked Montezuma better than Santa Teresa since it offered a lot more for us. A tip - we called ahead and had the hotel arrange a taxi to pick us up at the airport(landing strip) which was helpful. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudley76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Property: Hotel Amor de Mar
Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing