We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fabulous Bungalow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Mangos
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Bungalow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Boyfriend and I stayed in Bungalow #13. All of the bungalows are set just far enough apart that you feel like you have tons of privacy. Took a swim in the pool early in the morning, grounds are so peaceful and welcoming it was hard not to watch the sun rise from the pool which also over looks the ocean. Security was in parking lot one evening when we returned from a late ATV outing just to make sure we had a room on site and made us feel like our belongings were safe. Room was clean and tidy with fluffy large towels fresh each day. Bathroom was a bit small but functional for just the 2 of us. Rocking chairs and hammock on front porch were thoroughly utilized by us both days we stayed. Owner was drinking coffee both morning I walked down to front office to log into internet, he was friendly and helpful. Would stay here again for sure

Room Tip: BUNGALOW! The only way to go at this place. No AC here but there was a ceiling fan and small oscul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    88
    32
    18
    19
See reviews for
22
81
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The bungalows are a very nice concept. You can see monkeys in the garden and hear the waves. The room itself is nothing special. Bathrooms were a 1 star rating.

You need two fans going to stay cool during the night inside the room.

Front desk staff is nice but not very helpful.

I found the price high for what they offer.



Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonemike300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights as we wanted to be close to montezuma yoga to do a DIY retreat (which is on the premise and just fantastic in every way!) If you plan on doing the same, I do believe this is the best spot to stay for it, no excuses not to go and it just makes it easy. First the pros - the bungalows are just great, they are privately scattered amongst the property with ocean glimpses, they have a great timber balcony with rocking chairs and a hammock for reading, and they are extremely cool being in the shade. The bathroom is very average, the rest of the room is clean and simple and I loved the timber cladding throughout it's very rustic and a unique type of accommodation. The pool area is great as it's large and overlooks the ocean. The location is perfect, a short walk into the town and far enough out to be quiet. You had to sit on the reception balcony to get wifi, which was sometimes annoying as we needed it to book the next leg of our trip, but at the same time it was a welcome break from it. We originally booked the beachfront apartment but once we saw the bungalows they kindly swapped us. However the next morning we were told the bungalow we were staying in was booked and that we had to move to the beachfront apartment. We stayed on the ground floor and it was not for us at all, extremely loud due to the loud noises from every step on the floor above. We asked if there was any way to move back to a bungalow and they did that for us. The owner was so accommodating and a really nice guy. Overall I loved my stay there in the bungalow, but there is a huge difference between the two types of accommodation.

Room Tip: Bungalow for a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow City, Alabama United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Memorable and romantic. We liked it so much we stayed two nights. The rooms are quaint, cute, adequate but certainly not luxurious. There is no AC, but there is both a ceiling fan and a stand-up fan, and we needed both! Bathroom is nice with a good shower and hot water. It's open-air style, with no glass in the windows. Each cabin has a safe, which is quite handy. There's two beds, a single and a double. Front porch was great, with two rockers and a hammock, and lovely views of the tropical jungle. The cabins are spread apart at least 50 feet, so it's quite private. The grounds were beautifully planted, and very well-kept. Pool was very nice, and overlooked the ocean across the street. We had a car, but if you're afoot it's a perfect place to stay, less than 1/4 mile walk to town (really just around the corner) and very quiet, away from the bars & noise. Right across the street from the best restaurant in town, and only a few hundred yards from the beginning of the trail to the waterfall. The owner, who came from Greece about 20 years ago, is a very friendly and helpful fellow. Only complaint is the beds, which were pretty hard! Other than that it was perfect, and a place I'll always remember.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

If it's about price only you will be fine, at Los Mangos.
It's as clean as can be expected from a run down facility.
The location is great. The pool was a bit cloudy, and the grounds not well attended to. Wifi only available at the reception bungalow, the hotel has no place to purchase anything... 1/4 mile to town should you wish a bottle of water! Basically it's basic.... But acceptable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank KenCorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I recently did the Montezuma Yoga and wellness package in the Los Mangos Hotel. I’d read much positive feedback on Tripadvisor and after ten days there, I can definitely confirm that it is an inspiring and deeply enriching experience. With their beautiful setting, the Los Mangos rustic wooden bungalows are simply comfortable and nicely decorated with nice exotic touches. With its eco-friendly features, the hotel, perfectly integrated in its natural surroundings, is definitely perfect for experiencing a true immersion in nature among the birds, monkeys, and reptiles. Waking up to the sound of waves and birds, starting the day with a yoga session is truly regenerating. Having a delicious organic breakfast at Amor de mar, while enjoying the incredible view of the ocean, is inspiring... Spending the day discovering the many natural features or beaches by foot, reading a book lying in a hammock under a palm tree or writing my dairies is fulfilling! Dagmar is a wonderful host, making sure everyone feels welcome, adjusting her yoga teaching to all levels, her calm and assertive energy is a wonderful guide and support! Silvia is an excellent teacher with lots of positive and refreshing energy! The evening sessions are beautiful with candlelight and the amazingly relaxing music by Daniel playing on the magic Hang! I really recommend downloading Gaudan’s music! Along with this wonderful team, I must recommend the relaxing massage of Cordula and her helpful advice. The hotel team did an excellent job, the bungalow was always clean, Yajaira at the reception is most helpful and welcoming, Costas the owner and Johnny the driver are friendly and very nice people, a real family atmosphere!

A few practical advises: a head lamp can be useful in the evenings since bungalow lighting is of low intensity (to keep away bugs) so it can become quite dark. Amphibious footwear can be practical for the rocky beaches. Ear plugs can help if you are staying in a bungalow near the pool as on some occasions it can become somewhat noisy quite late in the evening (10-11pm).

Thanks to all, I will definitely return!
Rafik

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtltravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice for a total of 3 weeks all together. I'm a budget traveler but like a certain level of creature comforts and this place is wonderful in enough areas that I overlook the areas that may be less than perfect. I do yoga...my son swims in their sweet pool that over looks the ocean. The yoga is world class. In a town with not a lot of room, the open grounds are a breath of air and it's nicely laid out. I like the main building because of the open porch and ease of connecting with other travelers. The walk to town is the perfect distance.. Not to far but far enough on loud nights in town. The owner and staff are welcoming and they clean your room every day. In a perfect world there would be coffee in the morning, the staff would speak English, and yes there would be curtains that cover the windows but I cover the window with a sarong, practice my Spanish, and go across the street for an amazing breakfast. If you're a flexible traveler, this may be a good place for you too.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sevillaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Property: Hotel Los Mangos
Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Los Mangos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing