We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“shelter from the earthquake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Mangos
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“shelter from the earthquake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This past Sept of 2012 I rented a beachouse outside of Montezuma when CR exp a 7.8 mag earthquake--Soon aftger I had to ditch the house, as its roof was now dangerously 'rearranged' and went into town looking for a new place--I found refuge at Hotel Los Mangos. Being low season there were plenty of cabinas so I took up residence in one up the hill and it was a very comforting experience. Despite being rainy season, the cabin was always well ventilated, dry and the staff kept it perfectly and cheerfully clean. It had a mini-fridge and and hot water, which is basically the difference between most hostel-type places and a real hotel--as rustic as it may be.

The proprietor and his assistent are very welcoming and friendly people who did everything possible to get me situated. I have a slight disability requiring assistance getting around, carrying and lugging but staff helped whenever needed w/o exdpecting anything in return.

I don't know what its like in the busy season, but when its green-time, things are very laid back and chill there. The best swimming in Montezuma is a small beach accross the road and close to a superb Italian Rest. as well as town where more food and activities are only a 10" walk.

I recommend Hotel Los Mangos to those who are fine with a basic cool little cabin tucked into the woods with staff that are truly friendly, helpful and competent..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebrand69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    88
    32
    19
    19
See reviews for
23
81
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addison, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Last summer, my family of 5 went to Costa Rica (aged 9 to 45). We stayed at Los Mangos for 4 days and absolutely loved our stay. It was very affordable,and the environment was great. We got two separate bungalows that were across the way from each other. It was private but not exclusive. You are completely surrounded by nature- tall trees, monkeys jumping around, mangos falling to the ground to eat. There was a beautiful pool, great yoga studio, easy access to the village, and also lots of opportunities for excursions. The owner went above and beyond to make us feel welcome throughout our stay. If you are looking to escape the hustle and bustle of most vacation spots, and enjoy nature, this beautiful bohemian Montezumo village and hotel will be a greta option for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I recently visited Montezuma, Costa Rica, a wonderful little beach village on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica. We didn't have reservations so we started looking for a hotel. We made the mistake of stopping at Los Mangos. The guide book made it sound inviting. NOT!
The young woman acting as a receptionist didn't greet us. She was sitting in a chair on the porch and got up and dragged herself behind the reception desk.

We inquired about a room and rates. Then we asked to see one of the rooms. Each room is an octagon building, standing alone with lots of privacy. Unfortunately, the buildings are dark, dank, and poorly furnished. The rooms matched the attitude of the receptionist. The grounds were unkept, again, much like the receptionist.

We spotted a unit that looked lighter and brighter and asked to see that one. Miss Personality refused to show us the other room saying they were all alike. In addition to the above mentioned problems the pool was out of order. We decided to continue our search for a place we could enjoy. This was definitely NOT the place.

Room Tip: Choose a room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thumbsup45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montezuma hotels

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent a week at Los Mongos just on the spring side of wet season. The hut was rustic, but well maintained. We were very damp for the majority of our stay there, but that is life in the wet season.

Our room had a mini fridge, and a decently sized shower. Like a lot of places, there was a breaker switch in the bathroom to turn on the hot water and water pressure for the shower. None of that dangerous "instant heat" scariness.

The pool was beautiful. It overlooked the trees and to the ocean. They also have a yoga studio on site. Quite nice for yoga-surf packages.

The huts sit way back from the road with some trees in between, which is a major benefit. The road is dirt and is highly trafficked by ATVs. So being set back was a nice dirt and noise buffer. The downside of being surrounded by trees is that you can also be surrounded by howler moneys--who can be very loud at about 5AM.

There is no wifi, no restaurant.

Room Tip: They offer both a hotel and huts. Make sure you let them know which you'd prefer. The huts only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VegetarianViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

In the middle of a mango grove, surrounded by monkeys sat our own private cabina. Had a double bed and a single bed, overhead fan as well as extremely powerful floor fan, mini fridge, deck with rocking chairs and a hammock and full bath with hot water showers! 5 minute walk to town or waterfall and directly across the street from ocean. Daily yoga($14) was great. Loved everything about this place, I spent 2 months traveling costa rica and Nicaragua and this may very well have been my favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhill611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Los Mangos, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be back one day! All the best to you and kind regards from Hotel Los Mangos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

just returned from a fantastic yoga retreat with some excellent instructors at los mangos. room was simple but very clean and i appriciated the pristine bed sheets and nice towels. the lagoon like pool was sparkling and perfectly set in a naturalistic but nicely maintained garden with shadey mango trees that attracted monkeys to watch while floating around in the late afternoons. great location across the street from a beach, less than 5 min walk to the interesting town, near good resturants

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yoga8354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Schweiz
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

great place, no TV in the bungalow.. good shower.. there is also a pool nearby. friendly staff.. bungalow is clean, has also a little fridge. do not be affraid of the noice from the apes.. there also will fall some mango on your bunglalow.. it's about a 5min. walk to be in montezuma town. the hotel is not right in montezuma. If you like it quiet.. best place to hang, and stay in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikky72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#13 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
#11 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Property: Hotel Los Mangos
Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Los Mangos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing