We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“beautiful little space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Mangos
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Winterthur, Schweiz
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“beautiful little space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

great place, no TV in the bungalow.. good shower.. there is also a pool nearby. friendly staff.. bungalow is clean, has also a little fridge. do not be affraid of the noice from the apes.. there also will fall some mango on your bunglalow.. it's about a 5min. walk to be in montezuma town. the hotel is not right in montezuma. If you like it quiet.. best place to hang, and stay in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikky72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    88
    32
    19
    19
See reviews for
23
81
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Because the room was only $30 we werent expecting much but were totally blow away by everything we did get. Room was rustic, yet cozy, there's a great pool and it faced the beach. We chose a room with a shared bath but you are only sharing with 1 other room and there's no conflict. On the 2nd floor, there are rockers that face the ocean and you go to sleep hearing the waves crash. It's walking distance to downtown Montezuma and Montezuma Falls. We also stayed at another hotel in Sta Teresa with $80 a night rooms and they didn't come close to being Hotel Los Mangos. Los Mangos is very Costa Rican and very peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

After a lovely week long yoga retreat, I made my way down to the beach town of Montezuma to spend a few more days in Paradise. Los Mangos proved to be the perfect find with its cosy bungalows set in gardens bordering on the jungle. Swimming at the beach was made impossible by the arrival of "red tide" so I made good use of the swimming pool where often I would see some of the local wildlife crossing the grounds - including an armadillo!

The bungalow remained cool with the use of the fan, and the hammock and rocking chairs on the private deck were a perfect spot to read or gaze out at the ocean beyond. The housekeeping services were delightful with fresh fluffy towels every morning folded into the shapes of animals and shells. I particularly appreciated the in room safe and the bar fridge where I kept a supply of local fruits and drinks that I purchased at the market in town. There is no restaurant, but the hotel across the street with lovely ocean views served an awesome breakfast.

Los Mangos is perfectly located just outside of town in tranquil gardens, but still an easy walk to enjoy the shops, restaurants and bars of Montezuma. I was alone, but my $90 a night bungalow would have slept 3. Quite a bargain for a few more days in Paradise!

Room Tip: Select a bungalow near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sandwich, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Our group yoga retreat at Los Mangos was wonderful! 13 of us enjoyed the gorgeous yoga studio, the beautiful pool overlooking the pacific, and the location of the hotel, which is just outside of the village of Montezuma. As the retreat leader vacationing along with my family, we stayed in a hotel room, and although it was spacious and clean (4 of us shared), had a private bathroom and hot water (very little pressure), I secretly longed to be in a bungalow all week like the rest of my yogis--who loved their accommodations underneath the mango trees. Howler monkeys woke them at sunrise (they loved this), and agoutis and armadillos roamed the mango grove in between their bungalows. One afternoon, a whole bunch of capuchin monkeys rained fruit down on top of the studio, which stopped class, and we all went running out to see them dropping mangos from the branches. One bungalow had a resident iguana who made his perch on the roof every day, sunning himself in the afternoon. It was a lovely place to stay, and I think all 13 of us would return in a heartbeat!! A special thanks to Dagmar, who helped us arrange our yoga retreat there xo

Room Tip: *The bungalows were simple but lovely--a rustic elegance under the canopy of mango trees! *Water pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

the hotel is nice enough (pool and yoga a plus) however, these people do NOT care about Customer Satisfaction! I forgot a pair of tiny, sentimentally valuable earrings in the room and after NUMEROUS attempts to get them back, even offering to pay for Shipping back to the US, the owner just plain told me that it was impossible, and that they would hold onto them for 3 months so that I could personally return to the property to retrieve them! I gave them several opportunities, tried my best to negotiate with them, but to no avail. They simply cannot put a pair of studs in an envelope. Very annoying and not how I wanted to remember this place...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zaley08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Mangos, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Hola,
this is Dagmar from Los Mangos, I just saw your post and spoke with the owner again. Please understand that people forget things all the time and hardly any hotel in the world has the service of sending those items back. However we are sorry that you are so upset and obviously these earrings mean a lot to you, so please provide us with your mailing address and we will make an exception and send them to you. Hope this will make you happy and thanks again for choosing to stay with us on your trip. Please email info to homangos@racsa.co.cr
all the best to you, saludos los mangos hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Our first night at hotel los mangos was a little bit scary getting used to sleeping in the middle of the jungle without ac or windows. However, the owner was very reassuring and there was a security guard that walks around at night. The pool there was my favorite thing about this place. I spent most of my time swimming in it. I also loved the hammock on the porch. One lazy afternoon I sat in that and read for hours.

The location of this hotel was perfect. It was far enough away from the loudness of the central portion of town but still close enough to walk to everything. It is also right near the waterfall. You could walk to everything. We stopped at the supermarket in town and used the fridge in our room to hold beer and water.

In the mornings we saw a lot of monkeys. We saw a pack of white faced monkeys on our second day and howler monkeys on our third day. I would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megj0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Los Mangos turned out to surpass my fantasy expectation of rest and relaxation in the jungle on the Pacific Ocean without giving up comforting amenities such as a private bathroom with hot water and daily housekeeping! Not only is the complex extremely inviting for those looking for a retreat but still a stones throw away from downtown Montezuma. The staff left me with friendships that I will revisit through the years especially the owner who was available everyday and was extremely accommodating. I rented a bungalow in which I could watch the monkeys feed in the morning from the porch hammock and fell asleep to the waves crashing in the pacific at night. You can walk to the best restaurants around for breakfast lunch and dinner as well as hike to breath taking waterfalls in which you can jump, swim, sun bathe and zip line. If that sounds to active then taking a yoga class in the morning (which are offered on the campus and taught by a local legend) and cat napping at the pool is always an option.

Room Tip: The bungalows are private and isolated enough were other visitors aren't an issue. You can read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Property: Hotel Los Mangos
Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Los Mangos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing