We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Recommend Without Hesitation”
other travelers have booked this property
Feel the stress melt away as you relax on this deck- at eye level with monkeys and tropical birds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feel the stress melt away as you relax on this deck- at eye level with monkeys and tropical birds.
The property is surrounded on three sides by undeveloped forest- great privacy & wildlife viewing. The master bedroom has a full size bed as well as a futon single bed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Feel the stress melt away as you relax on this deck- at eye level with monkeys and tropical birds.
The property is surrounded on three sides by undeveloped forest- great privacy & wildlife viewing.
The master bedroom has a full size bed as well as a futon single bed.
The second bedroom has two twin beds with armoire.
The third bedroom has a full size bed with armoire. All the bedrooms have a ceiling fan.
The well-equipped kitchen has everything you need to prepare and share meals.
The kitchen and the bedrooms are fully screened.
The kitchen is so comfortable and spacious!
Relax in the hammock and listen to the sounds of nature: ocean waves, monkeys, birds, the stream...
There is an outdoor shower (with cool water) as well as an indoor shower (hot water).
The outdoor shower is wonderful after the beach.
Enjoy your morning coffee and watch wildlife on the 3rd floor observation deck!
Private gated entrance and off street parking. Great security.
Beautiful Playa los Cedros is only 400 meters from the door.
You'll see lots of hummingbirds from the patio.
The upstairs deck puts you at eye level with howler and capuchin monkeys for outstanding photo ops.
If you want to see some of Costa Rica's wildlife, this is the house for you.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
JudeH9544...
Glen Ellen, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommend Without Hesitation”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A stay at Casa Montezuma is one of those experiences that stays with you for a very long time. There are so many memorable facets to it: the clean, open layout of the house; the natural beauty of the immediate and extended surroundings; the sounds; the fragrances; the uncluttered mind it cultivates; these are just a few.

But perhaps its most distinguishing characteristic is its authenticity. The warmth and kindness of its owners/stewards - Donna and Tito. The elegant beauty of the property. The proximity to the beach, the mountains, the river, the nearby villages. All these things conspire to leave you with an authentic sense of connection to time and place, seemingly so difficult to come by these days.

This is an ideal choice for a large family, small group, or as we were, 2 small families. If this sounds like your group, look no further. A stay at Casa Montezuma, and all it has to offer, will restore your body and spirit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners and the house's integration into its surroundings.
Liked least: That we only had 3 weeks to stay there.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari726
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never to Be Forgotten”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A Truly Amazing Home that we will never forget. If you are looking for a cookie cutter 5 star, look elsewhere, because this is not it. Casa Montezuma is as unique as the area surrounding it, and is as beautiful as the pictures.

The layout is almost like camping in the jungle with modern conveniences. The sights, sounds, and sheer peace utterly amazed us. It was a truly needed vacation and we miss it so much now that we are back home in our hectic lifestyle. I will try and not repeat the description of the house, but all reviews are very accurate. We were never uncomfortable in the house from the heat, the fans cooled at night to the point we needed to cover up a little, and the kitchen was the coolest room to hang out. The 2nd floor dining area was great to sip a glass of wine and leaf through some of the wonderful books (and cookbooks) provided, while constantly watching and listening to all of the wildlife and beauty surrounding us.

Tito was an amazing host with an abundance of knowledge of the plants, animals, and surrounding area, and even called us to let us know that the monkeys were in the trees right outside. We wished we would have had the pleasure of meeting Donna personally, but we can’t thank her enough for helping with all of the arrangements for our arrival. We tried to take in a lot of the area in our short week there, and also visit with our daughter and her family that stayed in the town of Montezuma at the same time, however our time at Casa Montezuma was deeply treasured.

If you patiently sit quietly and wait, all the wildlife will cross your path. We saw more at Casa Montezuma than our 4 hr. hike of Cabo Blanco. A whole gang of capuchin monkeys, including their babies visited us, leaving way for some great photo shots. Iguanas, butterflies, a toucan, bats, coatis, and numerous birds, visited daily. The howler monkeys were never far away and woke us up every morning. They liked to hang out in the tree across the road, and we loved watching them.

The beach was just a short walk on the beautiful country road outside the gate, and in the opposite direction, quite a walk up the mountain, was a fabulous sprawling view of the pacific ocean well worth the hike.

The taxis to town were always quick and reasonably priced, and so very friendly drivers. When we were ready to go, they were always there in about 10/15 minutes. Would not recommend a car rental, due to the road conditions of the area. If we had more time, we would have rented a quad, though..

As Tito walked us to our cab our final day, we left Casa Montezuma with heavy heart, taking with us a sense of inner peace that we have never experienced, the beauty of the area, the sights and sounds,. Even though we don’t speak much Spanish, we met the most caring, kind people everyplace we went, and one thing we went away with is the fact that possessions are not value, nor do they create happiness. We all need to slow down and just enjoy the sights and sounds of this beautiful earth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Solitude. The people.
Liked least: Road Conditions of the area.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLizzy29
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil yet lively place to visit. Lots of life surrounding you.”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This home is accurate to its description and it's awesome. The surroundings are beautiful and serene. The owner is one of the friendliest people you'll ever meet. I do wish the location was closer to the the center of town because walking there is not recommended and the beds are FIRM but from my experience, that's all of Costa Rica. Overall great get away from everything. Would love to go back one day. The most unique place I've ever stayed at. Must see!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Casa Montezuma is a unique home in an amazing setting. If you're looking to truly connect with the sights and sounds of Nicoya, then this is your place.

The open floor plan puts you at the center of what amounts to a nature preserve. Most of the wildlife Donna and Tito mention in their description are regular visitors, easily visible from all levels of the house.

So many great features -- the location, the tropical landscaping, the jungle sounds, the short walk to the beach and river. But above all might be what a pleasure it was to get to know Tito, who made our stay something more than just a getaway. He's an extraordinary host and guide to a way of life that seems perfectly suited to the surroundings: connected, open, and respectful of the beauty of this little patch of Costa Rica.

Three weeks was far too short a time to fully appreciate Casa Montezuma.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A treehouse oasis in a true wildlife preserve!!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Casa Montezuma was an amazing experience in Costa Rica! You never need to leave the casa, Costa Rica comes to you in a lush wildlife rich environment.
We spent 5 days in this amazing location we were a family of 5 and had done some additional traveling to Arenal and Playa Conchal. This is where we felt we could have spent all of our time!
The house itself comes completely equipped with everything you need. Bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, the kitchen was great for cooking and playing games. But the highlight are the 3 observation areas on each level of the house where you can observe monkeys, iguana's, birds and agoutis. Are 14 year old claimed the hammock and it was the most fought over spot during our trip!
Tito was so helpful and kind. Always checking with us to see if we needed anything and sharing a lot of great knowledge about the Costa Rican Culture.
Also introducing us to his pet pig Chuleta, my kids loved going to feed her our fruit scraps in the morning!
The beach is a short walk down the road and it is breathtaking! Hermit crabs, looking at tide pools and body surfing were some of the highlights. On our evening walk back from the beach we often saw and heard howler monkeys in the trees above us! It was very easy to get around without a vehicle.
We highly recommend visiting Casa Montezuma, it is an awesome place!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brooklyn
Reviewed February 4, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2014
Just want to make sure that prospective guests know that the "resident dogs and pig" are at all times confined to a fenced area on a neighboring property. They are NOT residents of Casa Montezuma rental house.

Guests are welcome to interact with the pets, but they are not part of the rental experience unless you choose to do that. The dogs are trained not to bark at any time, are kept inside at night, and are never permitted to run loose on the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing