We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, unexpected find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra y Fuego

Tierra y Fuego
Ranked #11 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Flavor and wisdom of traditional italian cuisine.... selection of cheese and cold cuts,home made bread and wood-fired pizzas.Fresh pasta,lasagna,veggie fettuccini,sea food spaghetti. Tenderloin,ribeye steak and pork from BBQ,balsamic vinegar "tagliata" with arugula and parmesan,grilled chicken and home made desserts... WIFI-parking area-botanic garden-safe for children
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing, unexpected find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were already staying off the beaten path in a vacation rental and the owner of our rental suggested Tierra y Fuego which was even farther off the dirt roads from our rental. On our way, we drove in the pitch dark through a thunderstorm. We found it hard to believe that there would be an amazing restaurant at the end of our journey but there was! The food was wonderful, the service was great and the atmosphere was beautiful. The beautiful open air patio was lit with candles and soft lights. During dinner, the power went out but our pizza came out hot from the pizza oven and business went on as usual as we ate by candlelight. We wanted to eat there again but they were not open on Mondays. We are foodies and were so delighted by such a wonderful and unexpected find!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheridee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

When we travel we love to seek out little "off the beaten path" restaurants . Tierra y Fuego was recommended to us by the a fellow who worked for one of the tour operators in town. Our first visit was nothing short of magical. The owners, Pepe and Monica, have brought a little piece of Northern Italy to Costa Rica along with ambience and flavors of their home country. Did I mention pizza? They have built their own pizza oven and surrounded it with hand made tables and furniture made out of local woods and built, so I'm told, by Pepe himself! Everything about this place is classy and yet informal and friendly. I had their beef tenderloin on both our visits and wished I could have found room for their amazing looking pizzas as well. They had very little choice of wines but their house wine was superb. You'll find mostly locals here as it's a bit out of the way from the tourist restaurants in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good pizza, interesting dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I had a spinach pizza and it was good. I felt it was missing something but I think I just wasn't adventurous enough in choosing my pizza. The dessert I ordered was called salami because it looks like a slice of salami (but is very much not!). If you come here, get the salami!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank marrrrrrrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

a little bit of a drive up hill but the food is very good- unfortunately they are closed on random nights

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank hellocactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must go!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We went to the restaurant 2 nights in a row, it was that good.

Simple recipes but pizza and home made pasta are so delicious it's worth the drive up in the woods.

Directions: if driving, head west from Montezuma, pass Los Mangos hotel on the right, go over a small bridge, the first right turn up the steep hill. Steep drive through the woods, there is one left turn then one right, there are small restaurants signs on the both corners. Worth the drive!

Helpful?
2 Thank Stonemike300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierra y Fuego also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tierra y Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing