We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra y Fuego

Tierra y Fuego
Ranked #11 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Flavor and wisdom of traditional italian cuisine.... selection of cheese and cold cuts,home made bread and wood-fired pizzas.Fresh pasta,lasagna,veggie fettuccini,sea food spaghetti. Tenderloin,ribeye steak and pork from BBQ,balsamic vinegar "tagliata" with arugula and parmesan,grilled chicken and home made desserts... WIFI-parking area-botanic garden-safe for children
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Real authentic wood fired oven pizza! Very rustic little restaurant that was quite unexpected in the middle of the rainforest.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Top-Notch Food, Service & Ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

An amazing experience worth the drive up the hill! It's up the hill on the west side of Montezuma.

Had locally-made beer that was crisp, complex and delicious! Pizzas were outstanding with wood-fired crusts. Creative toppings and highly attentive service with an attention to detail that is usually found at locations much more "sophisticated" earned our host and chef-owner a hug and three kisses on the cheek on our way out. Excellent!!

Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Food on a Mountain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This food was worth the journey in the dark! Our family of three arrived well into the Saturday night dinner rush without a reservation. We were greeted enthusiastically and a table was provided in less than 5 minutes! A good sign on what was to come. We enjoyed a moderately priced Malbec with our home-made pizza right out of their stone oven, a shrimp pasta with fresh basil and a garden fresh salad. They were kind to split our dishes in the kitchen for us, too! All food was exceptionally prepared, the service was great and the location was a drive but worth it for the food and almost magical atmosphere of the place. Five star kudos to the owners/chefs! The food was so good that we hugged the chefs before departing ! Brilliant!

Helpful?
Thank Mason43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, very nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our party of five was grateful to be seated on a busy night. (We had misunderstood that we did need to make a reservation that evening, but the kind staff made room for us despite our mistake.) We enjoyed the relaxing dining environment and the pizzas were delicious, too! It is a place to go for a special occasion; one of the more expensive meals I have had in Costa Rica, but a really lovely experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cziser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I had the Gorgonzola gnocchi and my friend had a garlic pizza and both were fantastic. Service was great, prices were good, and there was live music while we were there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierra y Fuego also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tierra y Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing