We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra y Fuego

Tierra y Fuego
Ranked #12 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Flavor and wisdom of traditional italian cuisine.... selection of cheese and cold cuts,home made bread and wood-fired pizzas.Fresh pasta,lasagna,veggie fettuccini,sea food spaghetti. Tenderloin,ribeye steak and pork from BBQ,balsamic vinegar "tagliata" with arugula and parmesan,grilled chicken and home made desserts... WIFI-parking area-botanic garden-safe for children
Moorestown, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OMG Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Well, to get there you have to drive up a very scary hill so go when it's light out, coming back down is better. Once there you will be treated with a breathtaking scene of flora and fauna, a magnificent Italian kitchen (ask to take a peek), and glorious food! The owners are a charming family from Italy who really know their stuff!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank funkyartmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontrzumz
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I love eating at Tierra Y Fuego. But it is more than the food. The atmosphere is wonderful and the owners are so lovable. I take all my guest to Tierra Y Fuego. No one has ever been disappointed. In fact they are so pleased and comment that that was a highlite of their trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank beebarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Not going to go into a long speech, I am going to keep it short and to the point. The place is amazing, it is in Las Delicias, to get there you have to travel through the town of Montezuma, go over the Montezuma River, then up the hill. When you get to the top of the hill, keep an eye out for the small Tierra y Fuego sign on the right hand side. The road kind of forks, so make the right and go about 1/4 of a mile and you will see it on the left hand side.

The place is beautiful, the owners are from Northern Italy and super nice. We ordered the focaccia, two plates of fresh homemade pasta one with butter for the kids and one pomodoro for myself and my wife ordered the meat raviolis. WOW, amazing, I have not had pasta like that since I lived back in NJ. It was truly amazing, My wife has not stopped talking about her raviolis. If you want super nice hosts, authentic Italian cuisine and a beautiful, quiet location, make your way to Tierra Y Fuego.You will not regret it.

The bill was about $25,000 colones without a tip and that included a couple of beers a watermelon shake and lemonade for the kids. The portion of pasta was amazing, but if you go and you are a pasta eater, avoid an appetizer and order two plates of pasta as the portion is not the biggest. When the pasta is brought out, they are accompanied by a basket of bread.

Well, well worth the money. My mouth is watering just thinking about twirling my fork through that pasta. Cannot wait to go back.

Pictures coming shortly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank weluv2travelAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, and Nice People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We lived near Montezuma and went to Tierra y Fuego every Sunday. The pizza is our family's favorite in the world! Be sure to try the Tierra y Fuego Pizza and the Grilled Chicken (only on Sundays; needs to be preordered).

The owners, Monica y Pepe are really nice!

I go there every time we are in Montezuma.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montezuma, costa rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“the special treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I love this place. I live in Montezuma and am getting tired of the same restaurants every week. My boyfriend and I decided to try this place because it was a little out of town and was something different. The atmosphere is amazing. A small but comfortable area with a playground for kids. The photo was amazing, we had homemade lasagna and a Delicious thin crust pizza.

We don't go here regularly because without a car it's a little far to get to, but use it as a 'special treat' dining experience.

If you haven't been you need to go at least once before leaving Montezuma!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacqemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierra y Fuego also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tierra y Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing