We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worst Service Ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tairona Restaurante and Pizzeria - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tairona Restaurante and Pizzeria
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Olympia, Wa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst Service Ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I went to Costa Rica with classmates on a school trip and we received the worst service ever. The waiter was a young guy and kept ignoring us while he waited on other tables. It took many minutes before we even got a menu! We tried to make nice, but he made us feel stupid for trying to order in spanish. You hear about the laid back, nice attitude of Costa Ricans, especially in a surf town like Montezuma, but this was a horrible experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank summertime09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunately closed... Owners have changed :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Was just back in Montezuma this past December and wanted to go back to this place because I remembered it to be pretty good years before. However, I learned that Tairona is no more and that new owners have changed the restaurant and the menu. Not to say that it's bad now, but it didn't seem like it was happening at all. Too bad...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry_O84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pizza in Costa Rica anyone? Only if you have kids in tow!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Pizzas are about the same most places but theirs was not bad. Hard to find an empty table though. A popular place to eat for young people!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ElisaGermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great pizza!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I was very surprised to get great pizza in CR but here it is. Definitely worth a stop :)

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank s_rumphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My hubby had a delicious Pizza and I had a very unique and wonderful salad! Great prices and ambiance.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MCaughron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tairona Restaurante and Pizzeria also viewed

Cabuya, Montezuma
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing