We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“just excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Cafe, International, Vegetarian Friendly, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

costa rica is not known for good food, but this place far exceeded my expectations: good food and EXCELLENT service!!! lovely setting. Number one place to go in montezuma

alcohol was prohibited during semana santa but that is not their fault!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    92
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner and a movie ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Very cozy courtyard with a romantic feel. When the movie started the waiter had reserved a good spot in the movie area where we could enjoy our great food. I had the house pasta (very large portion) and my girlfriend had the chicken curry dish. We can highly recommend the garlic bread with guacamole appetizer as well. Great cinema with the newest movies! And overall a fantastic service.

Helpful?
Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Iced Coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had breakfast at this restaurant and my experience was "ok." The iced mocha that I ordered was really good, but very small for the price. The French Toast that I ordered would have been really good had it been cooked thoroughly, instead it came out very wet and mushy, I could not even eat it. The portion was large, almost enough for two, but the quality wasn't great. Also, we waited a very long time (even for Costa Rica) to get our check, and then again another 15-20 minutes before we got our change. I am here for a month and may give them another shot for dinner or lunch, in case it was just a bad day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was a very good restaurant it had inside and outside dining. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, something you don't find in a lot of restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor setting Good Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had a great meal here after a long day of Hiking and Beach Hopping! Good Nachos, Smoothies and local Tico fare. We had three desserts and they were all very good. This is not cheap but fair price for very good service and good size portions.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing