We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, reasonable prices, great atmosphere”

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 38 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Milwaukee WI
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices, great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We ate at Sano Banano a couple of times and had drinks and watched the "Soccer" match when C.R. won! It's a great location and you can eat inside or out. Outside at night they have very nice lighting and great music.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xtracycletony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    108
    38
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good food”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Good food with excellent options for vegetarian people. The breakfast is included if you stay at the hotel. Also I enjoy the diary movie nights, starting at 7:30 pm excellent while you're enjoying your food.
Food is a lil bit expensive but food in Montezuma is so the price is OK considering the size of the portion. The staff are too kind with the people.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had in Montezuma”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had the fish and my girlfriend had the nachos. Both of our meals were excellent! The servers were very friendly and courteous. Unfortunately we tried this place on our last night in town. We would have eaten here several more times if we knew ow good it was.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonygerads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This restaurant is directly connected to the Ylang-Ylang resort we stayed in, in Montezuma. The food is PHENOMENAL, staff OUTSTANDING. When we weren't at the Ylang-Ylang eating, we were here. Fresh, delicious awesomeness everytimewe went. Can't recommend them enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Not typically a review writer”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This isn't a review I want to write, but feel inclined to do so after this evening. My boyfriend and I read several reviews on Trip Advisor and decided El Sano Banano was our spot for a low key date night. We arrived at 7ish for the movie and ordered a Margarita to start. It was a solid drink and fairly strong. The ambiance is nice and the place seemed clean. Slowish service (even for Costa) but friendly staff nonetheless. Based on the reviews we both ordered the catch of the day, since people seemed to love the fish over some other options. We were told the catch was tuna, however, what arrived was VERY oily Mahi Mahi covered in garlic slices. It was overcooked and didn't taste fresh at all. Our vegetables were luke warm-to completely cold and the potatoes tasted suspiciously like instant. I realize this is a little harsh, but at $14+ a plate we were pretty disappointed, and have stomachaches to boot. We may have caught the place on an off night, but my advice is skip dinner and get a drink for the movie - the movie was fun and the atmosphere was nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing