We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delicious quesadillas!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Cafe, International, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious quesadillas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Ate here for lunch - delicious quesadillas for me and amazing burrito for my partner.
The cocktails were refreshing and service was great. Saw a capuchin with her baby in the garden!
Will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    93
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat in Montezuma, CR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We started coming to Costa Rica in 2001, and somehow stumbled upon Montezuma. During our first trip - all the way through our next 20 trips - whenever we visit Montezuma (now we have friends there!), we always have at least one or two meals at Sano Banano. During our past 3 night/4 day stay in Montezuma, we ate at Sano Banano for 4 different meals! Including a wonderful dinner on New Year's Eve. We really like the staff - and the food is always good, and much of the time, it's great. The family that started the business is still very much involved, and makes sure that everything is done right. You can count on it for delicious meals, great people watching from the front patio, and quiet dinners outside in the open air seating area. Thanks Sano Banano! It was great to see all of you in January. Until next time, Pura Vida

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldenViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
368 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“1/2014 - Okay, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I had lunch in January. We each ordered a typical Costa Rican plate and my wife had a salad. She says the salad was quite good, but the other dished were okay, but nothing to rave about. Larry & Kelly, Georgetown, Texas

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoseAlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
261 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good Typical Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I had a typical bean and rice plate with some cheese and avocado. It was very good and I sat on the front patio and enjoyed watching people go by. I had a fairly late dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank micarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nice setting but the price was a little high. Maybe it is like this all through Montezuma. Laid back and nice staff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JennCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing