We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but good quality dinner”

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Central American, Costa Rican, International, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
UK
Level Contributor
383 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Pricey but good quality dinner”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

All sourced ethically, the healthy banana suits the ethics & pace of montezuma. Black bean soup was delicious but for the price should have been bigger - this is largely backpacker territory after all!
Good service & at night films are shown if you're missing a few hours of easy amusement

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    107
    38
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“outstanding service”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had breakfast here the last day of our stay in Montezuma. The food was great, and the prices were reasonable. They have a nice seating area outside. The service was outstanding.
Our transfer company was supposed to pick us up here at 7 AM. When they didn't show up, one of the staff members took it upon himself to come talk to us about it. They called them for us, which was great because we don't really speak Spanish. Turned out the transfer company had changed the pick up time to 9 AM and hadn't bothered to tell us. We were so glad that the staff helped us out- they held our luggage for us so we could go enjoy the morning on the beach instead of being stuck sitting there with our suitcases, and were just really nice to us while we waited.
In Costa Rica, everyone is really friendly and nice, but the guys at El Sano went above and beyond.
They have a hotel attached, which we didn't stay at, but based on their service at the restaurant and how helpful they were, this might be something to check out if you will be in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get Your Money's Worth”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

There were five of us and we were looking for someplace close to the beach. We stayed at the hotel El Sano Banano. After a day on the beach we came to the Restaurant for a movie and dinner. While there were a lot of tempting meal offered, we settled for one of the largest pizzas I have ever seen. While I said it was not the best meal I have ever eaten, it was one of the best pizzas I've had in a long time.
The staff at the El Sano Banano makes the trip to get there will worth the time. Here is a youtube link to pictures we took.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5AQzj-H9yHo&feature=youtu.be

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank konotahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite expensive but good for the movie nights.”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We found the menu quite expensive, especially as we had a kitchen where we were staying. They play some good films (there's always a board outside saying tonight and tomorrow's film) so we went to share a dessert - one was plenty big enough for two - and enjoy the film.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davemw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL HEALTHY RESTAURANT”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We only ate here in montezuma. They were too good to go anywhere else. Had organic foods. Energy drinks were amazing! with spirulina and other super foods. Monkey business is the best cocktail ever. And movie night every night was a nice way to finish off the day.

Helpful?
Thank Josey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing