We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great food, good movie choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Cafe, International, Vegetarian Friendly, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Garden Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, good movie choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

During our week in Montezuma we dined here twice and also ordered a take-out pizza. The food was consistently fabulous: fresh, prepared with creativity and presented with flair. After we learned about the movie nights, we came here on our last evening in town, arriving early enough for the best seats to watch "The Hobbit." If you're visiting Montezuma, make a point of eating here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BluffHollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uumatter, Owner at El Sano Banano Restaurant, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! We really appreciate your satisfying remarks and feel great as a group to have made your stay in Montezuma a really positive and fun one!

Sincerely,

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    92
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“has it's niche”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This place has it's great little niche things like the house made coco zuma energy snacks (awesome) and for soccer games a good place to lounge and watch the games.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank craigvwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonyc32
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Average at best! Not sure why so highly rated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had dinner here based on the Tripadvisor reviews. We were pretty disappointed really.

We ordered a piazza which we had to wait almost an hour for. When it finally came it was not very good at all compared to the many pizzas i've had in Santa Teresa and such places (I loooove pizza!).

Pizza was thin crust but the base was so hard it almost hurt to eat. You could pick up a slice and the tip would not flop at all - it would stay dead straight!! The taste was pretty poor, it didn't....taste like pizza. It could have been anything really!

It was also very highly priced compared to other places that serve pizza. Maybe they are god with some dishes but not pizza in my opinion!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonyc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uumatter, Owner at El Sano Banano Restaurant, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Very strange! We just began selling pizzas a couple of weeks ago (middle of June) and while we experienced some start-up trouble with our new oven, all has been resolved. It is possible you may have had our pizza in the first few days when our new oven would not heat properly.

Our pizza is outstanding and the variety of mouth-watering choices are beyond what anyone else offers. We even offer vegan gluten free pizza. All of our pizzas are full of flavor and absolutely not bland in any way possible. Price wise, we charge the same as every other pizza place and offer a few deluxe versions that are simply divine. We have a very special base recipe with our pizza sauce that none of the other pizzerias offer, and most of our ingredients are organically grown.

As you can see, we are proud of our pizza creations and have been receiving outstanding feedback from our guests. You should give it another shot. We put a whole lotta love into our pizza!

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, Maine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Movies nightly and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We just had a fantastic afternoon porch sitting, drinking beer, eating nachos, and reading books! A great place with exceptional service, we moved inside at 7 for their nightly movie and had the most amazing avocado salad and thin crust pizza(medium size feeds 2 fully). The salad was around $6-7 and had an entire avocado, tons of homemade pesto and a whole tomato sliced on a bed of shaved lettuce...get this! Pizza was super hot and delicious. Best thing is the servers were as amazing at 3 oclock when i was reading my book as they were at 10pm after the movie. Also consider staying here in the hotel, funky weird place but great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sofemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best yogurt ice cream in cr!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite restaurants, the staff is reallynice and they have plenty of veg or vegan options. I had the lemon merengue pie with yogurt ice cream, amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mflaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing