We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“the first time I had excellent service and food combined in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Cafe, International, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Belarus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the first time I had excellent service and food combined in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've been in CR for a month and this was the first time I had both excellent food and excellent service (with English as well!). They have movies every night as an added bonus, good ones.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Link H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    94
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“plenty of choices- especially for good desserts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

lots on the menu to choose from. We went for dinner and had a Costa Rican rice and chicken dish and fish. The seasonings were delicious! The fish a bit over cooked but I found that at most of the restaurants in Montezuma.

The atmosphere in the back area was great not so crowded and breezy. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahRHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The food was always great and we could watch a great movie every night.
Staff were always very nice and listening to our needs.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Titi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a very nice meal at El Sanso Banano. We sat outside amidst the trees and dimly lit back "yard" of the restaurant. We all ordered casadas and had an appetizer of fried plantains. The casadas here were substantially more than you'd pay at one of the Sodas nearby, however, the service was exceptionally friendly and still, for dinner and drinks for 4 we paid substantially less than you'd pay most anywhere in the US. They also take credit cards.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had a fun movie night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Went to El Sano Banano with my friend to watch a movie and have some drinks on a Wednesday night. I ordered a ceviche to eat while watching the movie, and it was one of the best ceviches I have had. The drinks were also well-made.

It was great being able to watch a current American movie, since Netflix does not work down in Costa Rica (unless you want to watch TV series - no movies).

The only complaint I had was the seats very uncomfortable seats. They were ok for half an hour but not for two hours plus. Also, once the movie started some of the staff did not really have 'movie etiquette' as they were talking loud to each other, and one was just singing to himself!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Milani23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing