We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat customers”
Review of Proyecto Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Proyecto Lodge
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
“Repeat customers”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My girlfriend and I lived in Costa Rica for almost 3 years. In that time we had a lot of opportunity to go and see a lot of different places in Costa Rica. Montezuma and Proyecto were our favorite places to visit in Costa Rica. Vill and Kerri are great people who are really helping the people of Montezuma. The lodge is amazing! It is right on the ocean with a small natural pool on the rocks below the lodge. It is really close to the waterfalls, which are a must see. Overall, it is an amazing place with great people that we will continue to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words! We love repeats! You guys are always welcome and we know we will see you both again soon! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    4
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
14
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montezuma, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Honestly I think this is one of the better hostels in Montezuma. The owners Vill and Kerri are super nice and they do absolutely anything the can to make sure your stay is nice. There is a cool little semi-private beach to the left, tide pools to the right, and then like 3 more beaches past that so it is in an absolutely beautiful place. Their surf instructor Maykol is one of the best in zuma and hes a pretty awesome dude too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for your kind review! We agree: MAYKOL is the BEST INSTRUCTOR on the PENINSULA (and a super cool dude!). Pura Vida and please swing back by the lodge anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The first time I traveled alone outside the United States was this March, when I visited Montezuma. As a lone female, I was a little nervous and didn't really know what to expect. I worried about things like getting lost (this happened) or losing my ATM card (this also happened). I'm so happy that I chose to stay at the Proyecto Lodge! Kerri and Vill, the owners, made me feel completely at home and were very helpful when it came to recommendations, setting up activities, and introducing me around to other guests. Whatever minor setbacks that I faced, I never felt like I was completely alone, because Vill and Kerri were there to help.

As far as the lodge itself, the grounds are beautiful. The yard and most of the rooms overlook the beach, which you can always hear in the background. A short path leads down to the water and to the natural tide pools, where you can take a dip in the hot afternoon. I opted for a large private room upstairs, and it stayed surprisingly cool due to the breeze off the ocean. It's a 10 minute walk into town and the trailhead to Montezuma Falls is a 2 minute walk away (Go there too!).

All of the guests that stayed at Proyecto while I was there were enrolled in either Spanish, TEFL, or surfing classes. Everyone was extremely nice and interesting, and there was a feeling of community without it being overbearing. In other words, everyone would do their own thing during the day and would hang together at night.

I couldn't have had a better time on my first trip alone and owe a lot of that to Proyecto Montezuma. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for your nice words! We are so glad you had a great first trip aboard. You are welcome here anytime (and, maybe you will go home with your ATM card next time ;-). Thanks again and Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Staying at Proyecto was a perfect choice for us! Great location, beautiful views, and Kerri and Bill (owners) and the staff are warm and inviting. Also they can help you organize some local activities and spanish lessons. A great place! If going to the Montezuma area its definitely a place to check out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank milob432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for your kind review! We hope to see you back in paradise soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Amazing people, amazing project, amazing Montezuma !
We really had a wonderfull experience with so friendly Kerri and Vill (owners). We stayed in Jungle lodge which is very simple but with private bathroom. Ocean view and natural swimming pool are so nice. We also recommand to do surf lesson with Mickael who's so nice and good teacher. Definitly a place to visit in montezuma !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneetsophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review! Maykol loved reading your kind words about the surf lessons too! Have a great trip and we will follow your journeys on your blog! Thanks so much! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I had really nice time here, the location of the lodge is perfect, amazing view, private beach, few minutes walking to the waterfalls.. :) Kerri and Bill are amazing, they will help you with all your needs. :) I also took private spanish classes and they helped me a lot. Hope to go back soon! :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Losinj86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review! We hope to see you back in paradise soon! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

staying at Proyecto was a great choice. nice people run the place and organize a lot of fun activities. spanish and surfing lessons are held by locals. really helpful and efficient. definitely a place to visit on a costarican trip!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skitalica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review! We hope you come back soon! More Spanish classes and fun at the lodge, just get back anytime you can! All the best and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
#4 of 27 in Montezuma
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proyecto Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proyecto Lodge

Property: Proyecto Lodge
Address: Montezuma Beach | 100 Meters After Montezuma Waterfalls, Montezuma 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PROYECTO LODGE Natural Swimming Pools, Secluded Beach, Surf & Tour Packages, Kitchen, WiFi, BBQ Grill, Hammocks, Large Second Floor Balcony & Amazing Ocean Front View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Proyecto Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing