We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Monkeys

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Monkeys
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“really good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

there are 6 cabins suitet in 3 nice houses. the rooms are basic but clean and ood equiped (ac, fridge and we had a coffeemaker). in front is a table, where we always had our breakfast in the morning sun. the beds are good. the showers hot. our kids (3 and 5 years old) loved the big pool. wifi was available at the pool with its seaview. the owner is very helpful. the location is at the road to montezuma, but i is really quiet and a 15 minute walk down the steep hill to montezuma.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barva, Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The pool was very clean and just about perfect. There were hammocks on the front deck that were very comfortable. The A/C worked well and the beds were surprisingly comfy.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that are right by the road, you may want to ask for one furthest away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimGaudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed here right after we got married. The owners are super nice and very laid back. Our room was very clean with a big shower, mini fridge and AC. We spent a lot of time on the front porch in the hammocks. They just put in a pool that is phenominal! We stayed in room 3, however they all seen equally nice. Also there is a wonderful breeze that you don't get when staying down the hill closer to town. If you have a car this is the perfect place. We didn't have one and the 300 meters to town is ok going down, but is quite a hike going back up. ( I only did it once!! We paid a taxi after that!) Advice: Buy food from market in town. Before 7 or late at night there is no food available (other that fri & sat outside Chicos)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel. I would reccomend it. The owner is quite laid back but also very accomodating. The rooms are very nice, good A/C, nice clean bathroom, lots of hot water, even a TV although no cable. The beach is down the hill about half a kilometre. They were in the middle of constructing a swimming pool when we were there so in a few months that will be a nice addition.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
0.7 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Monkeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Monkeys

Property: Three Monkeys
Address: 500 meters above Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Three Monkeys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing