We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Ranked #1 of 17 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I just fell in love with this place! Because of the breakfast and lodge, it's easy to meet people. And it's a really short walk to the town and waterfall and other wonderful places. I stayed two nights longer and I was sad to leave after that. Breakfast is so good, the coffee is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrmaB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    49
    15
    12
    2
See reviews for
5
45
94
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We really liked this hostel. The dorms were cool and quiet with mosquito nets on the doors and windows. The kitchen was good and breakfast were excellent. It's a bit of a way up the hill, but not too far away from town.

It is crazily expensive ($32 for 2 dorm beds, not even the luxury dorm), but it is a nice place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OllieSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luzenelcielocr, Owner at Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback!

We do our very best to provide you with a clean, well equipped hostel. Our breakfast in the morning is what sets us apart from the other hostels in town. Just to clarify, our standard dorm room costs $15 per person per night.

Again, thank you for your feedback!! Happy traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Traveled here a year ago with my boyfriend and it was by far the best hostel we stayed at in Costa Rica! We stayed in the private cabina which was completely worth the value of the price. It was priceless waking up to howler monkeys every
morning, not to mention the cabina was beautifully set up and had a glass shower. Very clean hostel and very friendly staff, I recommend this place to anyone traveling through montezuma. We can't wait to return!

Pura vida,
Alana & Jeff

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julesalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

When booking the luxury dorm I wasn't expecting luxury. But the only difference (for $12 more) is less people. I didn't have a locker, or laundry service, a reading light or any nicer looking accommodations as mentioned on the website.

The "ensuite bathroom" mentioned on the website means your outhouse is outside of your room. Outside!!!

The bunk beds are so low you will hit your head everything you sit up.

Good luck staying asleep with the sound of whatever fruits falling from the surrounding trees, hitting against the tin metal ceiling which sounds like gun fire its so loud!

We tried to book a snorkeling tour but they said it was sold out. We went into town, found the exact same type, and for $10 cheaper for the same day and time.

People rating this place excellent must live in tents. It's average at most.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FollowThatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luzenelcielocr, Owner at Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

I am sorry that your experience was not what you expected. Our luxury dorm is nice than our standard, because it is it's own cabin, is much more spacious, you have your own key to the door has a private balcony and bathroom !! (Did you stay in the standard? how can you compare?)

The bathroom is outside, but this is the luxury... an open-air bathroom with a separate shower, toilette and doubled sinks, so one person doesn't take up the entire bathroom at once and natural air freshener all the time!

We have reading lights and personal fans on every bed, but sometimes they get moved around and one guest will use two at once... things happen. You can always ask, but we heard not one complaint or suggestion from you.

We do have lockers located in the main part of the lodge. This is the most secure place for the lockers. Also your room locks, our standard dorms do not.

The mangos fall on all of our buildings this time of year... it is very hard to avoid this. We have put up nets to collect them, but a few of the small ones get through!

This is your home in the jungle... and it is a beautiful place!

I am sorry that you did not come to us with your complaints, for we could have tried to help you have a better stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hostel staff were very friendly, especially Juan Luis and the Argentinan/Italian woman at the front desk! The travelers who come through this hostel are amazing people, and it created a community vibe that makes it difficult to leave. I stayed in both the dorms and the luxury dorm. The luxury dorm was well worth the increase in price, with it's own porch, outdoor shower and bathrooms, and views of the sunset from up top. I would definitely return to this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

El Luz en el Cielo is a rather small hostel located in the middle of the wood, so if you don't like any kind of animals, it's not the right spot for you. Best thing about the hostel is the excellent breakfast which is included in the price and the incredibly friendly and helpful stuff, which does everything to make your stay as nice as possible. Doorms are very small and its hot during the night, and there are also just 2 bathrooms for the whole hostels. However, we enjoyed our stay at Luz en el cielo! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights, first in the regular dorm, then in the rustic cabina. This hostel is only three minutes or so walk to the town. It is very clean with good accommodations, and a great breakfast is included. Very chill place, so you may end up extending your stay as we did.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thepompousfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#13 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Property: Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Address: 50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sounds of the jungle. Luz en el Cielo B&B/Hostel is located just out of Montezuma's town center. Montezuma is a small beach town with a huge heart and a lot of charm. This newly renovated, classy hostel is great for budget travels, families and couples. We currently have three dorm rooms in the main lodge, one dorm cabina with it's own balcony and bathroom, each equipped with new mattress, sheets and furnishings. We also have newly built private cabinas as of January 2012. Enjoy using our wireless internet, communal kitchen and lounge. Breakfast is included with every stay, as well as coffee all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En El Cielo Eco-Bed And Breakfast/Hostel
Luz En El Cielo Eco-b&b/ Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing