We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What a great deal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Ranked #1 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“What a great deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here earlier this month with three friends and had a really positive experience. The staff are all super helpful and Abby (the owner) went out of her way to make our stay extra enjoyable and even gave us a ride to where we needed to go at the end of our stay because she happened to be going to the same place! The rooms are all really clean and the free breakfast is amazing. I would definitely recommend this place to fellow travelers!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMP154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    46
    14
    12
    2
See reviews for
4
43
91
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. We were in a dorm with six beds. The room was full the first night and then it was just the two of us for the remainder. It was spacious enough. They provided cubby holes, fans and lamps for each bed. The room had a balcony that you could sit on and listen to the monkeys howl at each other or look at the iguanas roaming around.
We had a shower and toilet dedicated to our dorm which was really nice. It also had warm water if you needed it.
The breakfast was one of my favorite things about this place. You simply go down and tell the woman you would like the breakfast and she makes you eggs, beans and rice, toast and a piece of fruit. It was perfect! The communal kitchen is nice and they have a huge fridge for everyone to shower.
Luz is a 5 minute walk from the center of town, 15 minutes from the waterfalls and 20 minutes from Playa Grande. We thought the location was perfect.
The staff was super friendly and helpful in finding everything around town. I would definitely return here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very nice place to stay! Good breakfast included in the price!
Staff very helpful and nice setup on a hill right in the middle of nature and yet only a 5 minutes walk from the beach! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drmaxlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I'll make this simple:
PROS: great breakfast and coffee in the morning, staff happy to help book tours or recommend things to do, surrounded by great wildlife, clean bathrooms
CONS: tiny tiny TINY dorm rooms -- could not believe they expected 4 people to fit in there comfortably with their backpacks. huge tears in the screen mean not only bugs could get in but practically any creature that wanted to (please know that i am not a snobby, scared of bugs person ... but a completely open screen in the jungle is a different thing!) the bathrooms were clean, but the one upstairs had no water which meant every single person in the hostel needed to use the downstairs one (this meant there was a LONG line for the shower and if you needed just to use the bathroom you were out of luck...) lastly, the hostel is a steep hike up a hill which doesn't even offer a nice view or anything, so it is seemingly pointless.
overall, not very highly recommended... i'd look for a place closer to the beach if i were to return

Room Tip: don't stay in the dorms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jill6487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luzenelcielocr, Owner at Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as most guests do. It is too bad that whenever there is a small problem, we hear about it on TripAdvisor. We wish this was a better, more accurate sample of the general experience at Luz en el Cielo. Either way we do appreciate feedback. Please do not forget to let the hotel know about the issues you have while you are staying. There are many things that we can do to help you in the moment, instead of waiting to write a review to voice your opinion.

We are very sorry a board in your bed broke. This happens sometimes, as the beds are bunk beds and many people, shapes and sizes sleep in them. We do our best to maintain, however one board breaking is an easy fix, which was personally fixed by me, in about five minutes.

The hostel was at maximum capacity when you visited, for it was Semana Santa, the busiest week of the entire year. We would like to apologize for noisy guests, but after all we are a hostel and there is only so much that we can do without preventing the experience for other guests from having a good time. We do have quite hours from 10:30 pm to 8:00 am, which we enforce.

We are located about 100 meters up the hill from the Montezuma's town center. We are away from the beach, where it is quieter and safer! We have amazing wildlife at Luz and this is what makes the small trek up the hill worth every step.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Every time you walk up the hill, you work up a sweat...no big deal...take a quick shower relax and enjoy being surronded by the jungle...Staff was very friendly...security was not an issue with an over night guard...nice breakfast daily...got a little boring but than again I stayed for a month...coffee is excellent...There is pot smoling that goes on...but nobody forces you to smoke..though I did enjoy the quality...a well diversified group of people travel through and staff the hostel...family dinners are arranged periodically...overall a Great Time and would highly recommend to anyone who wants either a dorm room (where I stayed) or one of the private cabinas...of course the monkeys are always fun especially when they get rowdy in the middle of the night...local flavor at it's Best! Pura Vida...

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank 3939gallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in one of the private Cabinas. The cabina was really, really nice. Comfortable beds, really nice shower with hot water and an amazing view of the jungle, sunset and ocean. If you like to socialize but also have the option of getting away to a clean, private room then this the cabinas here are a good option. Breakfast was served every morning and coffee was ready all day long. It's a short walk to town (up a decent sized hill but after a couple treks you don't even notice it) and is quiet at night. We were traveling as a couple and this was a great option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMcM217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the private cabinas for 3 days. The biggest plus of staying here was the monkeys. I would stay here again just for that experience. Staying here is a very unique experience and you should know what you are getting in here. The people are very sweet, but the other reviews about staff smoking weed etc are true... so that is why i need to rank them a bit lower. It didn't affect my stay or my comfort, but it could affect the comfort of others so it shouldn't go unmentioned. The people who work here are honestly a representation of the people in the community and i enjoyed being around them, but it's not for everyone. I do warn that if you are staying in the cabinas (which you should!!!) you need to be in ok shape for the walk up the hill at night to the room. It's not far, it's just not easy if you have any walking issues. But..back to the monkeys. We woke up every morning surrounded by howler monkeys in the trees around our room and wouldn't trade that experience for the world. Get one of the cabinas for a few nights, drink your coffee and hang out with the monkeys...it was great. We spent 2 weeks in costa rica, and montezuma wasn't our favorite place, but i'm glad we went for the monkeys at luz en cielo. :) Oh..and the bed was really comfortable (something you can't take for granted in costa rica) but the water wasn't hot in the shower in our room, but again after 2 weeks we realize hot showers are not an expectation you should have when going to costa rica.

Room Tip: Stay in the private cabinas with the monkeys!!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Property: Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Address: 50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sounds of the jungle. Luz en el Cielo B&B/Hostel is located just out of Montezuma's town center. Montezuma is a small beach town with a huge heart and a lot of charm. This newly renovated, classy hostel is great for budget travels, families and couples. We currently have three dorm rooms in the main lodge, one dorm cabina with it's own balcony and bathroom, each equipped with new mattress, sheets and furnishings. We also have newly built private cabinas as of January 2012. Enjoy using our wireless internet, communal kitchen and lounge. Breakfast is included with every stay, as well as coffee all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En El Cielo Eco-b&b/ Hotel Montezuma
Luz En El Cielo Eco-Bed And Breakfast/Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing