We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
217
53
17
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
53
17
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricahowler monkeysplace to staysmall townprivate roomthree nightshot watermangotreeshilljunglewildlifebackpackersrecyclingbugsporch
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 301 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This place is a really "Luz en el cielo", I stayed for only two days but its worth to go back and enjoy a whole week there. Its very close to the little town, but at the same time is in the middle of the forest, we even received visits from the monkeys, so its very quiet and relaxing. The staff is very fun and welcoming, always ready to help you and also schedule surf lessons, and waterfall trails. The kitchen is well equiped, and one of the best things is the breakfast, which is something very hard to find in other hostels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in one of the two cabinas and it was really clean and nice. We were amazed at how cool it was to sleep with the doors wide open and listen to the sounds of the jungle (although it was a little hard to get used to the first night). We woke up to monkeys and a view of the ocean in the distant. Amazing. Great staff who were very helpful with all our local questions. We had a sushi night at the hostel where we made dinner as a group and it was very enjoyable. Breakfasts were filling and delicious. We really enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

If you're looking to stay in Montezuma on a budget, this is the place to be. Abbie (owner/manager) is welcoming, fun and very helpful, as are all of the other staff (several were American, so our limited Spanish was no problem). Great atmosphere, the place seems to be designed so that everyone congregates on the porch and socializes - we met a lot of great people this way. As long as you don't have any major mobility issues, the short walk up the hill from Montezuma is easy. We stayed in one of the new cabinas, and loved the open layout - the shower and balcony looks right out into the jungle and ocean, but with plenty of privacy. We had the windows and balcony doors open all of the time, the fan plus the bug net keep us cool/bug free. Didn't check out the dorm rooms but heard good things; highly recommend the cabinas, particularly for a couple. Breakfast and coffee were great, as was the 'family meal' we participated in - for $8 it was one of our best meals in CR! The $2 beers are a great deal too. We felt very safe - there are always staff on duty, and a safe at reception. Can't say enough good things about Luz en el Cielo - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view cabina is amazing
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SF24242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

five of us stayed here and loved it... my boyfriend and I spent a night and the sweet cabina up above which was perfect, and the dorms were great as well. Nice touches like a well-stocked kitchen, new and firm mattresses, clean EVERYWHERE, and good, strong coffee. Abbie the owner is extremely helpful and offered recommendations for places to stay in other towns along the peninsula. Thank you, Luz en el Cielo!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

A very warm and cosy hostel/b&b.

We were sleeping in the cabina above. The glass window in front of
the bed can be opened completely. So it feels like you're sleeping in the middle of the beautiful forest. Sounds of birds and monkeys all around. When the sun rises the view through the trees is amazing.

The rooms and kitchen are
clean. The staff is very kind and helpful. The other visitors were fun to be with at the time we were there.

Definitely a place to go back to!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NN20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews