We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
217
53
17
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
53
17
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeysplace to stayprivate roomthree nightshot watermangotreeshilljungletownwildlifebackpackersrecyclingbugsporch
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 301 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2012

A very warm and cosy hostel/b&b.

We were sleeping in the cabina above. The glass window in front of
the bed can be opened completely. So it feels like you're sleeping in the middle of the beautiful forest. Sounds of birds and monkeys all around. When the sun rises the view through the trees is amazing.

The rooms and kitchen are
clean. The staff is very kind and helpful. The other visitors were fun to be with at the time we were there.

Definitely a place to go back to!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NN20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I loved my stay here. It is in the beautiful town of Montezuma, set up the hill in the jungle. The atmosphere is laid back and fun and you are gauranteed to meet other travelers from all over the world. The daily breakfast is incredible and a great value! If you are a budget traveler and headed to Montezuma do not miss out on Luz. There is so much to do in the area such as hike to the waterfalls, go to the beach, explore the town, etc. etc. We had a great group staying here when I went and we did a few dinners on the town, hit up happy hour, and made a great dinner in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsm1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Luz en el Cielo is just around the corner of downtown Montezuma and it´s worth to clim the few meter uphill for a pleasant stay. At this moment -feb 2012- they only had dormrooms, the cabinas were not finished yet.

For only 15 dollars a night you get a bed in a room with 5 others, hot showers, Wifi all over the place and a very tastefull breakfast with fruit, gallo pinto and coffee.

Luz en el Cielo attracts a younger crowd and the atmosphere is very easy going: guys waxing their surfboards, while others are reading or sleeping in hammocks and others cooking dinner. Just like you want a nice hostel to be. At night you´ll hear the jungle, some cars on the road and the music from the communal area. No idea when that stopped, I think before midnight, but if you are here for a quiet night you´ll won´t be very happy. But I totally enjoyed it here and would have loved to stay a bit longer.

Definitely worth staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I came to Montezuma on a whim, found Luz en el Cielo, and ended up staying for almost 3 weeks. Abbie and everyone else on the staff made me feel like family, and I made many wonderful friends during my stay. I will come again when I'm able and recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Montezuma. Pura Vida!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewMichaelKerr242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Luz en el Cielo is a dream for backpackers!!!
It is super clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is super tasty.
The hostel is located up a small hill from town which allows for a more nature like vacation - monkeys and iguanas can be seen (and heard!) on the property.
We had a wonderful stay at Luz en el Cielo and hope to return again one day!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_traveller_from82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews