We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“beautiful, clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Ranked #1 of 17 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Quezaltenango, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
1 review
“beautiful, clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

five of us stayed here and loved it... my boyfriend and I spent a night and the sweet cabina up above which was perfect, and the dorms were great as well. Nice touches like a well-stocked kitchen, new and firm mattresses, clean EVERYWHERE, and good, strong coffee. Abbie the owner is extremely helpful and offered recommendations for places to stay in other towns along the peninsula. Thank you, Luz en el Cielo!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    47
    15
    12
    2
See reviews for
4
44
92
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

A very warm and cosy hostel/b&b.

We were sleeping in the cabina above. The glass window in front of
the bed can be opened completely. So it feels like you're sleeping in the middle of the beautiful forest. Sounds of birds and monkeys all around. When the sun rises the view through the trees is amazing.

The rooms and kitchen are
clean. The staff is very kind and helpful. The other visitors were fun to be with at the time we were there.

Definitely a place to go back to!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NN20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I loved my stay here. It is in the beautiful town of Montezuma, set up the hill in the jungle. The atmosphere is laid back and fun and you are gauranteed to meet other travelers from all over the world. The daily breakfast is incredible and a great value! If you are a budget traveler and headed to Montezuma do not miss out on Luz. There is so much to do in the area such as hike to the waterfalls, go to the beach, explore the town, etc. etc. We had a great group staying here when I went and we did a few dinners on the town, hit up happy hour, and made a great dinner in the kitchen.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsm1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Luz en el Cielo is just around the corner of downtown Montezuma and it´s worth to clim the few meter uphill for a pleasant stay. At this moment -feb 2012- they only had dormrooms, the cabinas were not finished yet.

For only 15 dollars a night you get a bed in a room with 5 others, hot showers, Wifi all over the place and a very tastefull breakfast with fruit, gallo pinto and coffee.

Luz en el Cielo attracts a younger crowd and the atmosphere is very easy going: guys waxing their surfboards, while others are reading or sleeping in hammocks and others cooking dinner. Just like you want a nice hostel to be. At night you´ll hear the jungle, some cars on the road and the music from the communal area. No idea when that stopped, I think before midnight, but if you are here for a quiet night you´ll won´t be very happy. But I totally enjoyed it here and would have loved to stay a bit longer.

Definitely worth staying here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I came to Montezuma on a whim, found Luz en el Cielo, and ended up staying for almost 3 weeks. Abbie and everyone else on the staff made me feel like family, and I made many wonderful friends during my stay. I will come again when I'm able and recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Montezuma. Pura Vida!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMichaelKerr242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Luz en el Cielo is a dream for backpackers!!!
It is super clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is super tasty.
The hostel is located up a small hill from town which allows for a more nature like vacation - monkeys and iguanas can be seen (and heard!) on the property.
We had a wonderful stay at Luz en el Cielo and hope to return again one day!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_traveller_from82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This hostel is located in Montezuma, a great little hippie town. We stayed in the newer cabinas which have a private bathroom and shower for your shared room. It's super nice and if you wanted to party you could go to the kitchen just down the stairs and join in with everyone. There are lots of little shops to buy souvenirs but if you are looking for something cheap watch out. Everything is pricey here. The hostel itself is a nice little place up on a hill in a small jungle. It is still very close to the town and quiet most of the time. During the night you can hear all the cars driving by and howler monkeys have noise competitions them. The staff is super awesome so be nice to them, they are also very helpful.

There are monkeys that wake you up in the morning and they may steal your clothes if you leave them out to dry...so don't bring anything you love too much. The town is small but there are lots of restaurants and a grocery store for all your needs. Watch out for restaurants with American pricing stay with the ones that have prices in Colones....cheaper.

The beach is not great for surfers so if you love to surf I would definitely still check out the town but not for long.

Waterfalls are beautiful. There is one walking distance about 30 minutes. It's big and worth it and if you're feeling crazy climb even higher through the jungle and there is another waterfall with a tarzan swing.

One more waterfall is a bit harder to get to but also worth it. Its about a 2 hour walk there and 2 hours back....we did it and it was pretty cool because it was way more private but if that sort of thing is not for you the 30 minute walk is a much bigger waterfall.

Overall this is a nice little town on the water but its more focused on shops and bars and a party lifestyle than the surfer lifestyle. Just depends on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.6 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Property: Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Address: 50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sounds of the jungle. Luz en el Cielo B&B/Hostel is located just out of Montezuma's town center. Montezuma is a small beach town with a huge heart and a lot of charm. This newly renovated, classy hostel is great for budget travels, families and couples. We currently have three dorm rooms in the main lodge, one dorm cabina with it's own balcony and bathroom, each equipped with new mattress, sheets and furnishings. We also have newly built private cabinas as of January 2012. Enjoy using our wireless internet, communal kitchen and lounge. Breakfast is included with every stay, as well as coffee all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En El Cielo Eco-b&b/ Hotel Montezuma
Luz En El Cielo Eco-Bed And Breakfast/Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing