We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly my favorite place in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Ranked #1 of 16 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Possibly my favorite place in the world!”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I came to Montezuma on a whim, found Luz en el Cielo, and ended up staying for almost 3 weeks. Abbie and everyone else on the staff made me feel like family, and I made many wonderful friends during my stay. I will come again when I'm able and recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Montezuma. Pura Vida!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMichaelKerr242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    51
    17
    12
    2
See reviews for
8
47
102
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Luz en el Cielo is a dream for backpackers!!!
It is super clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is super tasty.
The hostel is located up a small hill from town which allows for a more nature like vacation - monkeys and iguanas can be seen (and heard!) on the property.
We had a wonderful stay at Luz en el Cielo and hope to return again one day!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_traveller_from82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This hostel is located in Montezuma, a great little hippie town. We stayed in the newer cabinas which have a private bathroom and shower for your shared room. It's super nice and if you wanted to party you could go to the kitchen just down the stairs and join in with everyone. There are lots of little shops to buy souvenirs but if you are looking for something cheap watch out. Everything is pricey here. The hostel itself is a nice little place up on a hill in a small jungle. It is still very close to the town and quiet most of the time. During the night you can hear all the cars driving by and howler monkeys have noise competitions them. The staff is super awesome so be nice to them, they are also very helpful.

There are monkeys that wake you up in the morning and they may steal your clothes if you leave them out to dry...so don't bring anything you love too much. The town is small but there are lots of restaurants and a grocery store for all your needs. Watch out for restaurants with American pricing stay with the ones that have prices in Colones....cheaper.

The beach is not great for surfers so if you love to surf I would definitely still check out the town but not for long.

Waterfalls are beautiful. There is one walking distance about 30 minutes. It's big and worth it and if you're feeling crazy climb even higher through the jungle and there is another waterfall with a tarzan swing.

One more waterfall is a bit harder to get to but also worth it. Its about a 2 hour walk there and 2 hours back....we did it and it was pretty cool because it was way more private but if that sort of thing is not for you the 30 minute walk is a much bigger waterfall.

Overall this is a nice little town on the water but its more focused on shops and bars and a party lifestyle than the surfer lifestyle. Just depends on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Luz en el Cielo was a wonderful place to stay in Montezuma. Abbie and her team truly care about their residents and treat you like family! Breakfast is provided each morning and was a great way to start the day. Last but not least, you can't beat all the nature that surrounds this unique B&B. The resident Howler and Capuchin monkeys will entertain you everyday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbuss5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nice staff, willing to take te extra step for their guests. Good beds, clean rooms, no noisy environment and good working ceiling fans. Sanitary was clean and sufficient, and so was the kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I love Montezuma! It is full of such an eclectic mix of people, food and places to stay. Luz en el Cielo is a hostel that serves a breakfast that would ease your mom's concerns about whether or not you are eating well while in Costa Rica! The property itself is up a hill just before you hit the center of town which is nice for those that relish peace and quiet. While I was there they were putting the finishing touches on some new cabinas which I look forward to staying in the next time I return. The most important thing that really stood out for me was the cleanliness of this place. I have stayed at other hostels in Montezuma where i felt cleaner bathing at the beach! The staff is super-friendly and helpful and the sounds of the howler monkey serenade makes this place by far my favorite in Montezuma.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRCR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This wonderful little hostel made my holiday. Its nestled in the jungle amid the monkeys Iguanas and mango trees as you enter the cool, friendly, bohemian little beach town of Montezuma. I was always made to feel very welcome and I loved the vibe and the people i met there and in the town. And it was great value too. Abbie and Rob and Thomas and Lorinda and all the staff were a real pleasure to meet and hang out with. Its a good place for cooking, relaxing and meeting people too and there was lots to do with the waterfalls, yoga, surfing, beaches, National park, nice restaurants and nightlife nearby. I ended up spending 9 nights there and could have stayed longer. Hope to make it back there again sometime.

ps The Breakfast is quality.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 18 in Montezuma
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#11 of 18 in Montezuma
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Montezuma
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Property: Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Address: 50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sounds of the jungle. Luz en el Cielo B&B/Hostel is located just out of Montezuma's town center. Montezuma is a small beach town with a huge heart and a lot of charm. This newly renovated, classy hostel is great for budget travels, families and couples. We currently have three dorm rooms in the main lodge, one dorm cabina with it's own balcony and bathroom, each equipped with new mattress, sheets and furnishings. We also have newly built private cabinas as of January 2012. Enjoy using our wireless internet, communal kitchen and lounge. Breakfast is included with every stay, as well as coffee all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En El Cielo Eco-Bed And Breakfast/Hostel
Luz En El Cielo Eco-b&b/ Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing