We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Relaxing and Adventurous Holiday Vacation...”
VIEW OF HOUSE FROM
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
VIEW OF HOUSE FROM
FRONT GATE VIEW OF BEACH FROM BALCONY
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
VIEW OF HOUSE FROM
FRONT GATE
VIEW OF BEACH FROM BALCONY
BEACH AT SUNRISE
VIEW OF GARDEN
TAKE A FISHING TOUR  WITH JOSE
MONKEY IN TREE AT HOUSE
PLAYA LAS MACHAS JUST DOWN THE ROAD
LIVINGROOM
KITCHEN DINNING
BEDROOM
BATH
VIEW OF GARDEN AT SUNRISE
BALCONY
BONDFIRE ON BEACH
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BigCatchO...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Awesome Relaxing and Adventurous Holiday Vacation in Cabuya, Costa Rica”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a week at Hacienda Relaxo with all of the comforts of home in the most wonderful setting which exceeded our expectations. Another couple, friends of ours, joined us for four nights, but we still had plenty of privacy in this two story home. Great view of the ocean from the upstairs balcony. My wife spent her mornings on the balcony and even swam at the pool nearby. The entrance is gated and the property is immaculately maintained, making it the best in the area. We saw howler monkeys, large squirrels, lots of crabs, iguanas, lots of birds, a duck, chickens, roosters, lots of fish, and other wildlife.

The rocky beach is part of backyard and is an amazing sight at low tide and swimable at high tide. Be sure to take closed toe water shoes for walking on the beach. We even wore ours while swimming. We spent hours each day and every night sitting where the edge of the property meets the beach listening to the waves, cracking open coconuts, laying in the hammock, enjoying bonfires made by the caretakers, making smores, eating meals by candlelight, and taking in the most amazing view of the moon we have ever seen.

When not relaxing, we were partaking in all of the adventures the area has to offer. Jose, the fishing guide who takes care of the place with his wife Flori, offers authentic fishing experiences at affordable prices. My wife was a little reluctant to go fishing as she had not spent much time on a boat on the ocean or been deep sea fishing. However, after the first trip she couldn't wait to go again. Riding in the boat looking at the scenery was enjoyable in and of itself. We also had fun snorkeling and exploring Cemetery Island. But the fishing trips were the best I have ever experienced in my life. Jose knows just where to go and provides all the gear and guidance you need to catch big fish. He keeps his boat on the beach next door so you leave right from your backyard - doesn't get any better than that. My wife caught a Wahoo(nearly 5ft), a Mahi Mahi, and a Jack fish. I caught 5 beautiful, large Mahi Mahi over 40pds each, a Wahoo, Jack fish, and tuna. Jose provided drinks and the most delicious fresh fruit during our outings. His wife Flori even cooked what we caught that evening for dinner which made for a great ending to another day in paradise. They served us on the beach by candlelight, like something you would only expect at a five star luxury hotel.

We went hiking in Cabo Blanco National Park (within walking distance from house) and spent hours relaxing on the beach there. Took long walks on beach, to the nearby river, and even walked the road to Mal Pais. We also took a day trip to Playa Hermosa to try a little surfing for the first time (beautiful sunsets there).

Cabuya provides a quiet, authentic Costa Rican experience. There are restaurants, two little grocery stores, and an artist shop within a short walking distance. We didn't have a car and didn't feel like we needed one. Don't miss out on Jenny's Coyote Café (we got great pizza take-out and and ate breakfast there one morning). If have questions about the area or need to arrange transportation to nearby Montezuma, Mal Pais, or Santa Teresa, Jenny will have the answers and can make reservations for you. Cabuya is not crowded or touristy. We planned our adventures during the daylight hours and enjoyed relaxing evenings at the house after dinner, watching the moon rise over the bay and enjoying the bonfires.

Our trip to Cabuya was made even more special than it would have been because we stayed at Hacienda Relaxo and because of the caretakers next door, Jose, Flori, and their kids. They were extremely helpful but yet maintained their distance. They were very attentive and responsive to any request we made. We felt safe having them there. Flori cooked most of our meals (don't miss out on her pancakes) and makes great coffee, the authentic Tico way.

The owner of this great house answered all of our questions before we left. Upon our arrival, we thought the house was even better in person than in the pictures. The beds were very comfortable, the showers had hot water and good pressure, only saw one bug in house the whole time which was amazing given all of our comings and goings. We were glad to have the option of air conditioning and fans and the kitchen was extremely well equipped.

My wife and I and our two friends thoroughly enjoyed our time here, we will never forget this incredible trip, and hope to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, proximity to beach, caretakers, relaxation and adventures, fishing
Liked least: Wish there were more daylight hours, wish we could stayed longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jlinse
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's not a cliche. This place is a private paradise!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Our family of four spent five fantastic days at this beach front house. The beach is steps from this fully equipped two bedroom house, including A/C and washer/dryer. We had the beach to ourselves! Cabuya is a sleepy town 2 km from Cabo Blanco Reserve. The hike to Cabo Blanco beach is vigorous but worth it. We saw deer, coatis, and monkeys along the way. We recommend Cafe Coyote for lunch or dinner. We also recommend the low tide stroll over to the island that contains the town's cemetery. We did venture to Mal Pais and Santa Teresa on the other side of the peninsula-a short but bumpy 7 km drive. There's great restaurants there but you quickly appreciate the quiet side of Nicoya. We recommend beachside Habanero restaurant and the scenic view of Buenos Aires restaurant. As well as unique settings, both had great food and drinks. Caretakers, Jose and Flori, next door to property and manager, Jenny, at Coyote Café were helpful and attentive during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Privacy/location/cleanliness.
Liked least: Directions to the property could have been much clearer, esp since it was unclear that the actual location was Cabuya vs Montezuma
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GringaenM...
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquility on the Nicoya Peninsula”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Our New Year's Holiday at the Hacienda Relaxo was wonderful. The house is located right on the beach in the town of Cabuya, a few kilometers from the busier Montezuma. The added tranquility suited our group (three adults, two twelve year olds) perfectly. From Cabuya we took the more adventuresome road to Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, on the Pacific side of the peninsula.

The house is outfitted with all the necessary kitchen equipment and linens and blessed with a wonderful, if rocky, beach in front. The house manager, Jenny, arranged for easy pick up of the keys and made herself available to help with any shopping. The care taker Jose also offered his fishing trip services, and seemed sorely disappointed we had already made arrangements for an all day scuba trip out of the town of Tambor.

We loved watching the Capuchin monkeys cross over the yard high in the branches of the Guancaste tree and hearing the Howler monkeys echo through the woods.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent location. Beachfront in the sleepy town of Cabuya.
Liked least: The caretaker seemed to count on selling us his fishing charter. When dissappointed, he seemed a bit surly.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaLB
Paris, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Paradise.....Totally Relaxing and Beautiful!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I and our friends have just spent a wonderful 10 days here at this beautiful, relaxing house! We saw Howler monkeys every day and white faced monkeys also! The pictures of the location totally do it justice! The house is beautiful inside and the grounds outside are also beautiful and well looked after by Jose and his wife! They were wonderful and cooked us a wonderful lobster supper one evening and fish another!
Just a note that the beach front is beautiful, but not so much a sandy beach for swimming, but there are lots to be found! It is wonderful for walking but be sure to bring your water shoes!
Jenny who manages everything for you when you arrive was absolutely wonderful also. She made you feel like part of her family with her wonderful smiling and cheerful attitude. The house is located in Cabuya, a very small town but the restaurants are wonderful. Jenny's restaurant - Cafe Coyote has absolutely amazing food! Jenny also will help you to arrange anything you need during your stay such as getting a rental car, or renting a quad to arranging for day trips or horseback riding, she will arrange all for you. This is very helpful if you do not know a lot of Spanish!
We also ate at the Cabuya Bakery and Cafe! This is a must also if you are in Cabuya, the food is excellent and the desserts are just amazing!
We did day trips over to Montezuma and also to Mal Pais. The surfing if you like to surf is wonderful in Mal Pais and they also have a wonderful restaurant called The Bakery! But life is busier in these two locations, so it was always wonderful to come back to Cabuya at the end of the day as it is so quiet and relaxing and all the people are very friendly and helpful. You will want to rent a car so that you can get around to the different locations, but be prepared for the bumps! But the sights while travelling are just beautiful! You totally get a real feel for Costa Rican life when staying in Cabuya. We walked around town the entire week and you feel totally at ease and safe!
We also did horseback riding with Marvin - El Pinto Expeditions. He was wonderful and his horses are great and well looked after, definitely a must!
We would definitely recommend this beautiful house as it is totally an amazing place to stay and RELAX! We will definitely be returning!!!
Thanks so much for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful piece of Heaven!
Joanna and Randy Barker,
Paris, Ontario Canada

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: How Relaxing it was, and the town, everyone there was friendly and helpful, food was great!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digitodd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was the most relaxing and enjoyable vacation I've had in many years.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The location is a little challenging to get to, but it is well worth the effort. The house is very nice and is right on the beach. The view is spectacular from your own back yard. There is plenty wildlife like birds, monkeys and iguanas. This is not a good swimming beach but you can find one just a few minutes away. The people of Cabuya are very nice and the town has everything you need at the local grocery stores. All in all I highly recommend it!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewed March 31, 2010 for a stay in March 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rhode Island
Reviewed March 28, 2010 for a stay in February 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$200
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing