We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Cheap”
Review of Hotel Moctezuma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Moctezuma
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I gave 4 stars because you have to take into account of how cheap it is, I really thing I paid like $31 dollars for a room, its has no A/C but it does have ceiling fans and sense you are right on the beach that was good enough. There is not much to do in Montezuma besides relaxing and surfing. Not that many restaurants when I was there but it has been a a while sense I last visited. You a far away from everything in Montezuma I would like to say its a 5 hour drive from San Jose and you have to get on a ferry to get there but if you are looking for a quiet place with not much to do at all besides relaxing and surfing then give this town a try I think you will like it. There are better hotels around if you are looking to stay in a nicer place but for the price this was alright.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Kelsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Moctezuma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 50 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Rooms w ac! Clean and good location right in the middle of town which was great. Only negative is the most level at night as it is right across from the bar which pays loud music every night. Manageable w ear plugs though.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelsey_piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a good feeling when we saw our room. Nice ocean view, wooden and big room for good price- 3 nights for 100 Usd. We were suprisec that it was not possible to wash our hands - no water. I asked what is the problem and they explained me that it is in whole tiwn and that they will fix it. We have to wait couple hours. After six hours we still did not have any water. They gave us a key from another room in the building across the street and we took the shower there... But just really little bit of water came out. They told us that tomorrow it will be everything ok. But it was the same story. Only the water stoped to run while I was taking the shower.
And then the big noice from the bar nearby till late in the night.
And it does not smell very good.
I will definitly not advise. You will have nice room but no toilet and shower and will be forced to run across the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vendy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This place was a total let down. We didn't have much time to plan so showed up in town without a place to stay. We walked around and this place was the more affordable at $60 a night but such a rip off. The bathroom was tiny, old and dirty with no hot water. There were no towels in the room only to find out when we returned the key that you could have a clean towel with a deposit. The music and noise from the bar on the street lasted all night. Really the worst night of the trip.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mushstache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed one night after a taxi dropped us off there telling us it was a good central hotel. The safe was broken, the lock on the door was broken, there were no blankets to be found, the showerhead had exposed electrical wires and there were cockroaches in the room.

It bordered on impossible to sleep due to the street noise. There are far better places to stay in Montezuma for the same or less money than this hotel. After one day we moved up the hill to the luna llena and had three days of quiet bliss.

We learned not to trust a taxi recommnedation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I stayed here two nights. I paid $24/night for a double bed, cold shower, and torn window screens. Basic, and that would have been fine except that the price was first quoted me at $20 and nothing was done about my request to have screen fixed--important because of the number of mosquitoes here. Also the location is extremely noisy. Other places further out of town (walking distance) are better for same price or less.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Inmi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 18 in Montezuma
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
#10 of 18 in Montezuma
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moctezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moctezuma

Address: Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range: $32 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Moctezuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing