We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing we did here!”
Review of Montezuma Falls

Montezuma Falls
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best thing we did here!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I were recently in Montezuma and hiked to the three waterfalls. This was a completely awesome time for a variety of reasons, the first of which is that it is a free activity. It is recommended you wear good shoes as this is not a trivial hike. There are several guides waiting to scoop up confused looking tourists for a fee (this ended up happening to us kind of by accident) but it is completely possible to do this hike on your own, and I wish that we had. The best thing to do is get some local advice before going and then you won't need a guide, Armando at the Bakery Cafe told us exactly how to get to the three waterfalls. Once at the top you can swim in the plunge pools, jump off some of the rocks, and jump off of the small and medium-height waterfalls (note, the first waterfall you come to is the big one and several people have died trying to jump this one, therefore don't do it). Like I said before, this can be a free activity and regardless it is a must do because of the beautiful scenery and the fun you can have at the waterfalls.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    291
    55
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very tranquil”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Not far away from the intersection near amor del mar in montezuma, the road leading to the waterfall is not long, but there are no signs so it is better to study the way first. When we were there it was quiet and very private, hence amazing. FYI, parking there costs money

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keren_Dekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“HIGHLIGHT OF MONTEZUMA”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the coolest experiences ever. Swim under the big waterfall and the water drops are floating its stunning... And with the force of the waterfall over your head, sun beaming through and surrounded by jungle. Walk around and up above to the top waterfall. It's smaller (around 14 metres) so you can safely jump off that. I loved this waterfall so sooo much

Helpful?
Thank Josey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“wear good shoes!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The start of the hike to Montezuma Falls is a short distance from the town. A few minutes down the road and you come to the river. It was a little slick on the walk in and not everyone in our party had appropriate foot wear which made it a little more sketchy but we all made it. There is no lack of local Tico's willing to "guide" you into the falls and help you find the path of least resistance, but its not necessary. We didn't use one and did just fine. We only walked to the lower falls, so I don't know what the rest of the hike was like. It doesn't take long to do, but once you get there you'll be glad you came - it's beautiful! The day we were there the water wasn't clear as it had been raining the days prior, but the water was cool and refreshing. My husband and kids (10 & 11) climbed the small cliff to the left of the falls and had a blast jumping in. Also they climbed in behind the falls and jumped through. They loved it! There were some locals with a little area set up with their hand made bracelets and necklaces. We bought some, not just because the kids wanted something but because the two guys running it had put on a great show of climbing WAY up the falls and jumping in, several times. It was amazing to watch!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katnboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perugia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magic Place”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The place is really magic, with a 25 meters waterfall and a smaller one on top, its really great to take a dive from the upper one and the walk to reach it is really beautiful.... would really recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gp692pv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Falls also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Montezuma Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing