We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite restaurants in Montezuma!”
Review of Puggo's

Puggo's
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Israeli, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Puggo's Restuarant is located just off the beach in the small town of Montezuma. The owner is a world traveler who has found her home in Costa Rica. Her menu and its flavours are a direct reflection of her life experiences. From the fresh local fish to the slow cooked osobuco and moussaka, you can taste the love she has for her food. She uses a range of ingredients, from local organic chocolate to spices she brings directly from her home country of Israel. Puggo's also has a fresh sushi bar which specializes in a range of asian inspired dishes using locally caught fish and prepared right in front of your eyes. The atomsphere is friendly and relaxed and the multilingual staff is happy to recommend not only their favourite dishes but beaches as well! .
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurants in Montezuma!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had sushi, grilled fish and cocktails here on our last night in Montezuma and were only sad that we had not discovered this restaurant earlier in our trip. The food was fresh, delicious and beautifully arranged on our plates. The waiter was very attentive and made great suggestions for our meal and tropical cocktails. We also enjoyed the music and the atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamelita01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    128
    37
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here while visiting montezuma for a week. We LOVED it! The hummus and falafel was absolutely delicious and it came with homemade bread. Husband got crispy tuna with an Asian salad thing. He said it was amazing. Prices were good. Service was so slow because one guy was running the whole place. That's pretty impressive but it took forever to get out of there. But sooo worth it :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food, location, price... just took a while”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I'd heard about the burgeoning chef community in this small tucked-away town and was anxious to try it for myself. Ate here with friends the first night after arriving in Montezuma, and was not disappointed. Food was outstanding, and a pretty good value. All of us were impressed with our different dishes.

Only bad thing I could say is that it took a while to get our food, probably 35+ minutes after ordering.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SlightlyUnruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Loved the sushi and creative Middle Eastern meals. We went several times and it was excellent each time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lokita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I enjoyed the fresh sushi and ate here on two occasions during my two week stay in Montezuma. All of the fish seemed to be very fresh. I very much enjoyed my dinner here. I recommend the Watermelon-Basil beverage.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank marrrrrrrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puggo's also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Puggo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing