We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”
Review of Puggo's

Puggo's
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Sushi, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Puggo's Restuarant is located just off the beach in the small town of Montezuma. The owner is a world traveler who has found her home in Costa Rica. Her menu and its flavours are a direct reflection of her life experiences. From the fresh local fish to the slow cooked osobuco and moussaka, you can taste the love she has for her food. She uses a range of ingredients, from local organic chocolate to spices she brings directly from her home country of Israel. Puggo's also has a fresh sushi bar which specializes in a range of asian inspired dishes using locally caught fish and prepared right in front of your eyes. The atomsphere is friendly and relaxed and the multilingual staff is happy to recommend not only their favourite dishes but beaches as well! .
Middletown, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Loved the sushi and creative Middle Eastern meals. We went several times and it was excellent each time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lokita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    124
    35
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I enjoyed the fresh sushi and ate here on two occasions during my two week stay in Montezuma. All of the fish seemed to be very fresh. I very much enjoyed my dinner here. I recommend the Watermelon-Basil beverage.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank marrrrrrrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and delicious food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Our waitress Jacqueline was delightful. She help us with our selections and all the other staff members were wonderful. My sons (9 and 7) loved everything we tried. We went three or four times for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank surfingsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best.”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Amazing sushi AND moussaka... in the same restaurant.
We kept going back during our stay in the area. Easily the best food we had in Costa Rica, I wish they had a location in Brooklyn.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brackish53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must eat in Montezuma!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The food lives up to the reviews! Must eat: purple salmon (citrus sashimi pieces of salmon with oil and green onions) mmm. We saw the chef buy local ingredients at the market the next day and we knew that is why the food was so delicious. Foccacia bread appetizer was amazing. Wine by the glass + outdoor seating - bliss.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puggo's also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Puggo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing