We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great food for an amazing price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puggo's

Puggo's
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Puggo's Restuarant is located just off the beach in the small town of Montezuma. The owner is a world traveler who has found her home in Costa Rica. Her menu and its flavours are a direct reflection of her life experiences. From the fresh local fish to the slow cooked osobuco and moussaka, you can taste the love she has for her food. She uses a range of ingredients, from local organic chocolate to spices she brings directly from her home country of Israel. Puggo's also has a fresh sushi bar which specializes in a range of asian inspired dishes using locally caught fish and prepared right in front of your eyes. The atomsphere is friendly and relaxed and the multilingual staff is happy to recommend not only their favourite dishes but beaches as well! .
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food for an amazing price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My family and I had dinner at Puggo's and loved it! Their veggie burger was really tasty, the Asian noodles were great and the Greek salad was perfect. You will be pleasantly surprised when you get the bill, it is under priced if you ask me. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    107
    29
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible food and service - excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We ordered two mint lemonade vodka smoothies. Awesome. The gratis bread was incredible - homemade focaccia served w/tomato parsley spread. We had to force ourselves to stop eating it so we'd have room for our main courses. We ordered the beef medallions with cinnamon apple chutney and potatoes, and the veggie coconut curry asian noodles. Everything was cooked perfectly and there was more than enough food. We couldn't get over how good everything tasted. Back in the states, you'd be paying at least $25-$30 for the quality and size of the beef medallions. Here, it was only $14. In fact, we are going back again for dinner tonight. The service was great and we even had a guy stop by with some live music for a little bit, adding to the atmosphere. Puggo's is not on the waterfront, but you don't miss it as the food is just that good. Go, you won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kekavasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerville, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent staff, very nice welcome. We ate here 3 nights in a row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Wow! First night in Montezuma we found this place. We were recommended 2 dishes by the waiter and LOVED them both. Try the crispy tuna - it's brilliant. We also loved the fish stew and the awesome sushi and sashimi. They also make a frozen lime and mint drink with vodka that is superb! This place is hard to beat. I'd eat there in any city and at twice the price!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank H00HAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Exelant israli food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Good food, high quality, nice atmosphere and kind service.
I really missed the Israeli taste.the kabab was verty tasty!!! And dont go out without turkish cofee :-) we will come here soon again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidCockrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, Vermont
2 reviews
“"It's like Christmas in your mouth"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have never had a bad meal here! The staff is incredible and the food is outstanding. I have traveled to Montezuma twice and can't stay away from meals at Puggo's during my visits. My favorite dish is The Morrocan Fish Stew but the sushi is by far the best sushi I have ever had before as well. The waitstaff is excellent and will give you great recommendations if you let them know what you are in the mood for and what you like. Even the drinks are above average....you have to sip on a refreshing Lemon/Mint beverage. You cant travel to Montezuma without a meal at this establishment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puggo's also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Puggo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing