We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fresh salads to die for . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puggo's

Puggo's
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Puggo's Restuarant is located just off the beach in the small town of Montezuma. The owner is a world traveler who has found her home in Costa Rica. Her menu and its flavours are a direct reflection of her life experiences. From the fresh local fish to the slow cooked osobuco and moussaka, you can taste the love she has for her food. She uses a range of ingredients, from local organic chocolate to spices she brings directly from her home country of Israel. Puggo's also has a fresh sushi bar which specializes in a range of asian inspired dishes using locally caught fish and prepared right in front of your eyes. The atomsphere is friendly and relaxed and the multilingual staff is happy to recommend not only their favourite dishes but beaches as well! .
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh salads to die for . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great Israeli-run restaurant, with fresh salads and fresh fish. We didn't love the felafel balls, but otherwise great. Make sure to order the mint lemonade. The waitress there was a total sweetheart, gave us advice on what to do. We went back several times.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank O M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    107
    29
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best bread in Montezuma (and possibly Costa Rica)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

During our 8 day stay in Montezuma this year, we ate at Puggo's 3 times. A perfect meal for me is to split an Arabic salad (and bread!) and an entree. The cost is reasonable, and you'll walk away happy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanDow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, amazing vibe, amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Montezuma wouldn't be the same without Puggo's! All kinds of delicious and fresh food, and probably the best sushi in Costa Rica! Spend the night drinking limonanas (mint lemonade with vodka), eating awesome food and kicking it with Maya and chill staff that work there. My girlfriend and I stayed at Agua Vista and we had one of Puggo's chefs, Victor, cook us a fantastic meal in the comfort of our cabana and it really set the tone for an unforgettable trip so I highly recommend doing that as well!
Maya, it was great meeting you, we love you and thanks for taking care of us in every way!

Baruch & Sabrina

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry_O84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best in Montezuma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Very tasty food in a relaxed environment. We went here several times and were not disappointed, on the contrary we were very pleased.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank akeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Among all the excellent restaurants in Montezuma, this one gets our repeat business whenever we visit. Our server (she is a teacher from Toronto but I have forgotten her name!) was incredible, she made great recommendations and treated us like royalty. The menu varies from sushi to mediterranian, and the steaks are fantastic. Good food, relaxed ambience and the Beatles playlist one evening created just the right vibe.Order the basil or mint lemonade--unforgettable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ticorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puggo's also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Puggo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing