We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puggo's

Puggo's
Main Rd, In Front the Hotel Down Town Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Puggo's Restuarant is located just off the beach in the small town of Montezuma. The owner is a world traveler who has found her home in Costa Rica. Her menu and its flavours are a direct reflection of her life experiences. From the fresh local fish to the slow cooked osobuco and moussaka, you can taste the love she has for her food. She uses a range of ingredients, from local organic chocolate to spices she brings directly from her home country of Israel. Puggo's also has a fresh sushi bar which specializes in a range of asian inspired dishes using locally caught fish and prepared right in front of your eyes. The atomsphere is friendly and relaxed and the multilingual staff is happy to recommend not only their favourite dishes but beaches as well! .
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The service and the food here are fantastic. I ate here a few times during my stay in Montezuma and I was never disappointed. Try the mint lemonade with vodka for a delicious cocktail, and be sure to get their dessert! They only have one and it is always soooo good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    105
    27
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprisingly fine-dining in very relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Wow. Arabic-fusion menu, great ingredients and cozy atmosphere. Arabic and Greek salad were fantastic though quite big for a starter. The Kebab and the Ribeye were also very tasty and the portions were pieces of art. Something you would not expect in Montezuma.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NReetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excelente food, you have to try it....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

A great chef restaurant, We loved every dish that we tried.
especially the roasted eggplant...
The team was very professional, and above all, Maya- The sheff that make it all happend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asinine10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“yummy change of scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

among days of only eating casadas, Pugggo's was our first dinner in Costa Rica that wasn't based on rice and beans - and it was delicious! The middle eastern food fusion seemed to hit the spot perfectly, and the beautifully prepared meals were just as tasty. The scenery is beautiful too and we were there on one of the days with live music which really set the scene with the candles and made it very romantic.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PZTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Ate Most of my meals here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I hadn't seen the trip advisor reviews for this place when I found it in Montezuma, but it lived up to their reputation! My favourite dish (as a vegetarian) was the Arabic Salad - the dressing was delicious and the portions were big. I was given the free focaccia bread each time I was there, and it was addicting! I also had the the falafel and hummus, veg burger, and pesto noodles - all were very good! I saw some reviews about the cat - he was there too, but it's Costa Rica - there are dogs/animals wandering through every restarant in Montezuma that I was in.

Great restaurant!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puggo's also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Puggo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing