We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“....a bit magical....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
1 review
“....a bit magical....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

I am almost afraid to say too much about this place for fear of not being able to book a room in a few years. Anamaya is fairly new but feels settled, organized, calm, and a bit magical.
Everyone from the cleaning / maintenance staff to the cook to the co-owner, Joseph, were lovely. The main building as well as the cabinas (we were given a small tour!) are unique and stylish but are also very comfortable feeling. The location is great because it is only a few minutes from the bustle(!) of Montezuma's downtown core. The view (from the infinity pool) is absolute breathtaking. I am looking forward to many more visits to Anamaya.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
36
96
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

No matter what you're looking for; a relaxing hill-top stay, a peaceful yoga retreat, or simply a break from "downtown" Montezuma, this is your place. Staying here felt like a dream. The owners and staff should pride themselves on maintaining an oasis of tranquility - yet it didn't feel too quiet or impersonal. It was easy to get to know other guests because the very tastefully decorated common areas lent themselves to great conversation and pool-side chatting, if that's what you're interested in. Otherwise, you can lounge on your beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean, swing in your hammock and read. I will definitely go back to Anamaya, hopefully for a much longer stay. I am a world-traveller in her 30s and have seen many a beautiful resort, this is definitely in the top 3.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeinspain00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

How would you like to wake up in your beautiful casita to a view of the sun rising over the Pacific (that's right -- rising, not setting!). Anamaya Resort is poised on the top of a hillside overlooking the Pacific Ocean where it meets the Gulf of Nicoya, above Montezuma. From the large, airy, shaded veranda, as well as from the beautiful infiinity pool, you can look one way and see south along the Pacific Coast of central Costa Rica, and the other up the coast of the Nicoya Peninsula. The accomodations are beautifully done -- artistic without being precious or busy--and fit right in with the restful, warm vibe. And the couple who run the place are welcoming and eager to make your stay joyful and relaxing. Two potential drawbacks: Anamaya is up a steep hill from town, so you pretty much have to drive (or take a long hot walk back up the hill!) to get down into the town of Montezuma or to the many beaches in the area. Also, it's pricey. But you're paying for a beautiful experience!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 18SanPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

This was our 2nd trip to Costa Rica- Anamaya & Montezuma were our favorite! Its best to have a car as they are a few minutes drive up a steep hill from town (20 min walk) but with beautiful views and tropical breeze, its definitely worth it. The owners/managers were very accommodating and massages and yoga were excellent.
We hope to return with family/friends soon!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Anamaya for 2 nights in Jan 010. First of all, you can't talk about Anamaya without mentioning the view. It's absolutely stunning. There is a giant yoga deck and a small infinity pool which exploit the view to great effect. We stayed in 'Bali house' which was by far the most unique and beautiful room we stayed in during our whole vacation. It has all glass walls with draw curtains, shares the same view as the deck, and has an outdoor bathroom that looks out over the Ocean. It should be mentioned that this is more of a retreat center than 5 star hotel. If you expect the kind of service and attention that you'd get for a similar amount of money at a hotel, you might not find it here. The staff is friendly and wonderful, they just don't have personnel and infrastructure to provide that kind of experience. This was more than fine for my wife and I, and we actually preferred this experience. For instance, there isn't really a menu. Dinner is prepared based on what they have (beautiful organic produce) and what you request. That was ideal for us. All the bungalows are unique and beautiful. The management is flexible and accommodating. This would be an ideal place for a destination wedding. I would say that if you are looking for a unique and relaxing escape and are not going to be fussy about being waited upon, you will love this place as much as we did.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webbtux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

The Anamaya provided us with exactly the type of experiencing we were hoping for. Very quiet, close enough to the town to take advantage but away from the noise. The resort is not on the beach, and would be a tough walk. But, the view of the ocean can't be beat and the pool is great. Yoga and dinner were a great value as well. The Anamaya does have a very communal feel. If you're looking for the conventional it may not be for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

Soooo lovely just chilling at Anamaya and enjoying the stunning view from the terrace and pool that we had to remind ourselves to visit the delicious waterfall nearby for a swim in the freshwater pool (don't miss it).

Great food for veggies like us though carnivores seem to be well catered for too.

We enjoyed walking up and down to town and the beach saying hello to the monkeys on the way but some may prefer to cab it or hitch a ride.

Oh and If you get the chance to watch some fire dancing by the hosts, seize it. Great stuff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globalnomadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center

Property: Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center
Address: 300 mts NE of Mariposario, Montezuma 00001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anamaya is a luxury boutique hotel and yoga retreat center in the beautiful beach town of Montezuma, Costa Rica. We have the best view of any hotel in the area, and are right next door to famous Montezuma Falls, which is a 5 minute walk from our property. The hotel is decorated in a very artistic, Bohemian, yet luxurious style that creates a very exotic feel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Hotel Montezuma
Anamaya Resort And Retreat Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing