We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view, very relaxing, exceptional experience.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2010

The Anamaya provided us with exactly the type of experiencing we were hoping for. Very quiet, close enough to the town to take advantage but away from the noise. The resort is not on the beach, and would be a tough walk. But, the view of the ocean can't be beat and the pool is great. Yoga and dinner were a great value as well. The Anamaya does have a very communal feel. If you're looking for the conventional it may not be for you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 200 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2010

Soooo lovely just chilling at Anamaya and enjoying the stunning view from the terrace and pool that we had to remind ourselves to visit the delicious waterfall nearby for a swim in the freshwater pool (don't miss it).

Great food for veggies like us though carnivores seem to be well catered for too.

We enjoyed walking up and down to town and the beach saying hello to the monkeys on the way but some may prefer to cab it or hitch a ride.

Oh and If you get the chance to watch some fire dancing by the hosts, seize it. Great stuff.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalnomadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Anamaya is a perfect place to stay in the hills above Montezuma, on the Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica. The lodging options were the cleanest and most comfortable, luxurious places we stayed during our entire trip. We could join yoga classes every morning if we wanted... as well as getting massages, having dinner with other guests, or walking 5 minutes down a trail to the local waterfall. They have a gorgeous lodge and swimming pool perched on the edge of a hillside with outstanding views looking up and down the coastline at green hills and blue ocean water as far as you can see!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omgaiatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I stayed in Anamaya this January and everything was perfect. The view is breathtaking, people are lovely, the rooms are beautiful and cozy. Its very close to a beautiful waterfal and a short walk to Montezuma - very pretty little town with nice bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Dont´miss
--- sunrise and sunset in the salt water infinity pool
--- swimming and diving at the waterfalls (5 minutes aways from resort)
--- great food, tasty and healthy, by Oscar et al.
--- early morning yoga - you, the sea and the sunny sky

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucho2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I had a wonderful time - the view is stunning, the place itself extra comfortable and beautiful,
the staff lovely and efficient - couldn't ask for more.

All components added up to a relaxing, energizing and inspiring experience.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_a_g_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

My friend and I arrived at Anamaya shortly before New Years of 2009. We were lucky to be among the first guests to stay at the new resort. We were immediately greeted by the gracious owner and the beautiful ocean, glimmering all around us. The view from the saltwater infinity pool or the yoga deck under a full moon will forever be burned in my memory! New Years Eve afforded us the opportunity to watch fire dancing on the beach, a world-traveler's dream party in the town, and then a wind-down in the pool and sauna at Anamaya to cleanse out the remaining hours of 2009. The family-like atmosphere gave us a chance to make new friends at yoga and breakfast. The private lodging gave us an intimate view of the sunrise over the water each morning and an equally magnificent sunset from our porch's hammock. I WILL be back and I highly suggest making Anamaya a must-do on your travel itinerary!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meredith79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
7.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center

Address: 300 mts NE of Mariposario, Montezuma 00001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: $127 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anamaya is a luxury boutique hotel and yoga retreat center in the beautiful beach town of Montezuma, Costa Rica. We have the best view of any hotel in the area, and are right next door to famous Montezuma Falls, which is a 5 minute walk from our property. The hotel is decorated in a very artistic, Bohemian, yet luxurious style that creates a very exotic feel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Hotel Montezuma
Anamaya Resort And Retreat Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing