We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Casacolores(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
$60
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Sano Banano Beachside Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Howler Monkey Hotel(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Celaje(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amor de Mar(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna Llena Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
204
15
5
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
15
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga deckinfinity poolyoga teacher trainingzip liningother gueststhe main housechef jeffoutdoor bathroomcircus performancecosta ricadaily yogamagical placeamazing yogathe sun risemaster suitehorseback ridinglife changing experience
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 226 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Anamaya was by far the most exquisite slice of paradise for my husband and I! It is a slice of heaven! We were very happily surprised by the quality of the little houses that serve as the rooms, the food, the main house sacred space as well as the view and infinity pool!! I was absolutely amazed at the pristine upkeep and the generosity of the staff in particular. It was our sheer joy to stay at such a place and hope to return in the future! They embody the Pura Vida lifestyle for sure! :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurtleEarthMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Having just completed a yoga retreat at this fabulous resort, I am dreaming of going back already. The peaceful environment and outstanding service were over the top. The food prepared by top chefs was amazing. The manager Jen becomes your personal host and treats each guest as if in her own home. What more can I say?

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank BuffyL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Like everyone else, the food, yoga and nearby Montezuma make this a treasure. The staff is amazing. The hikes, waterfalls, surfing, snorkling, etc are all right there. Hope to return again to this palace on the hill.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I went to Anamaya on a Yoga and Surf retreat. All the great reviews about Anamaya convinced me to take the plunge, I was not disappointed. The facilities were great and well kept. I slept in the Jungle room with 2 other friends. The loft is a little tiny but I was able to sleep with no issue and I am 6'4". The view for doing yoga or hanging out in the hammock is amazing.

The real stand outs about Anamaya are the people and the food. The food was amazing, and I got to meet one of the cooks Camilo during a cooking class. The class was a lot of fun and his passion and love for food came through in the class.

Jen and Alberto were amazing. We had some problems with our internal flights and Alberto worked with the 30+ people staying at the resort to reroute over land. Jen the general manager was so nice and helpful. No matter the situation she was there to help out and make your stay the best possible.

We had great weather(march 9-16th) and the surfing in the area work great for me(beginner) and a more advanced surfer in the group.

This was a great trip and I highly recommend going to Anamaya.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fugit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A great surfing experience, beautiful location with commanding views for the retreat, excellent food, yoga and facilities.

For a lapsed surfer, the surf school - Young Vision - was excellent. The school is on a great break on a beautiful quiet beach on a nature reserve, and it was really useful to go back to first principles and learn to surf again. There was one instructor for every three people, and by the end of the week all the beginners who stayed with it were paddling out to the line up and catching real waves. all but one day you go out in the morning (its a 20 min walk from the edge of town, no cars allowed!) and have two hour-ish sessions with fresh fruit to revive in the middle.

Anamaya itself is a sort of yogic paradise on a hill top, but still serves meat and booze so it counts as a holiday not a health farm.

Room Tip: We were in the Casita, which could easily sleep four, and had a cool outdoor bathroom (and an inside one). Only downside is Casita deck. always in the shade.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fabioteapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews