We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Paradise to Its finest!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Bayside, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise to Its finest!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

I have to say that this trip was amazing. From the moment we entered Anamaya you can feel the great energy. The employees greeted me and my friend with a smile and were very helpful. From transportation to and from the airport to the resort it was great.

Me and my friend opted to take the shuttle they provided so we can enjoy the view on our travel to Anamaya.. It was great seeing all the towns’ families walking by. The great farms and animals Costa Rica has to offer. I had the pleasure in meeting lots of great people that came to the same resort .

It has been about 5 days since I left Anamaya and I have to say I miss the yummy food, the great Yoga classes and the Zumba class were we get to learn great moves.. It was great and I am looking forward to coming back either alone again or with my family and bring lots of friends.

Room Tip: I stayed in the casita and loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evamason80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
36
96
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

I had the honor of staying at Anamaya and teaching and taking yoga for the seven day retreat. It is one of the most peaceful and tranquil places on earth. The facilities are beautiful and the view is breath taking. Doing yoga on the open air deck facing the ocean was a dream come true. The food was excellent and the package included three meals per day with great variety. Everything home made and organic. Delicious. Relaxing by the edgeless pool or on a hammock was my favorite thing. Although the location is high on top a hill, you do not feel isolated because you have access to alot of activites including a hiking to a water fall just outside Anamaya's back gate, walking to town, surfing, scuba, horseback riding and dancing. But the best part of the experience was the staff at Anamaya. They were all wonderful and did everything to make my stay excellent. I highly recommend doing one of the week long retreats. It is very affordable for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimmyG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

I met my friends at Anamaya for an adventure and we were not disappointed. Costa Rica is fantastic and everyone needs to visit at some point in their life, but make sure you make Anamaya a part of your stay. We traveled around to different areas but this was one of our favourite spots.

The food is incredible and the staff make you feel like you're part of the "Anamaya Family". The view is stunning and the rooms were great - every cabina is different and we got to see some of the rooms that were vacant. Sometimes we needed to ask for clean towels and the cleaning staff were lovely people but they had a tendency to miss things here-or-there...but when we needed something taken care of, we asked and they took care of it right away.

It's a very special place and I can't wait to go back for a yoga retreat, or a detox retreat, or something like that. I highly recommend checking it out.

Room Tip: Try to book the Bali House if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SafiRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

The Anamaya resort is a gorgeous place to relax--one of the most beautiful views imaginable. Yoga on the spacious ocean view deck, exceptional breakfast buffets, fresh fish for dinner were all a plus for this vacation. Resort is located on a bluff and getting up the steep hill is a challenge. The walk to Montezuma can be done. Hire a taxi on the return to avoid the steep climb, but not always easy to find one. We paid a bit more to have a casita--which had a "full kitchen". Some details were overlooked--no coffee pot, coffee cups, wine glasses, dish towels. Staff was very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ccwriter16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

This was our second visit to Anamaya Resort. The first visit was so magical we decided to get married there. From the minute we arrived it was like we had come home. We were greeted by Joseph and his lovely staff who made our stay unforgettable. We were able to relax and enjoy everything that Anamaya had to offer and truly have a stressfree wedding. The staff took care of all of the details for us and anticipated our every need. Their holistic approach to life was felt in every detail of our stay, from the healthy cooking to the pleasant and peaceful environment. We brought 3 teenage city kids with us and they truly enjoyed the connection to nature that Anamaya had to offer. This both surprised and delighted us.

Anamaya will always have a special place in our hearts.

Greg, Nancy, Sam, Justine and Madeleine

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NThompson1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

We came to Anamaya for a week's Tantra Yoga retreat, now knowing just how much the feeling, service and beauty of this resort would amplify the experience of the retreat itself. We must leave today, but as I sit here I am looking out over the stunning porch/yoga/dance floor in the back, with a calm and glorious ocean hundreds of feet below. Jungle-like forest extends from hundreds of feet below us to the ocean shore, and this morning we awakened to the gentle sound of howler monkies, just as last night we feel asleep to the unique and funny sounds of geckos clicking.

If you EVER have an opportunity to come here as a guest, either as part of a retreat or during the times they have individual bungalows for rent, do not miss it. I have traveled the world, including much of the vacation tropics, and Anamaya has been the best of the best.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crisismanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

I treated myself to a yoga retreat for my 40th birthday and have been thanking myself for it ever since! The resort is stunning, and the view from the yoga deck might be the most beautiful one I've ever seen. But the real magic of the place is in the loving, energetic vibe of the people who work there. Everyone, without exception, was friendly, helpful, and warm. Destiny's yoga classes were terrific, and the food was some of the most delicious, creative cuisine I have ever tasted. The Anamaya website paints a spectacular picture of the place, so my expectations were pretty high. Anamaya exceeded those high expectations in every possible way! I would absolutely recommend it and I can't wait to return someday.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robynkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center

Property: Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center
Address: 300 mts NE of Mariposario, Montezuma 00001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anamaya is a luxury boutique hotel and yoga retreat center in the beautiful beach town of Montezuma, Costa Rica. We have the best view of any hotel in the area, and are right next door to famous Montezuma Falls, which is a 5 minute walk from our property. The hotel is decorated in a very artistic, Bohemian, yet luxurious style that creates a very exotic feel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Hotel Montezuma
Anamaya Resort And Retreat Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing