We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply amazing! The perfect, private getaway.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
View from the deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kellybrus...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply amazing! The perfect, private getaway.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Carolina's adorable home. The house is perched on a lush green hillside with a view straight to the ocean. The balcony wraps around the house and is equipped with a hammock, lounging chairs and a dining room table. The home had everything we needed including a washer/dryer, water cooler, and every kitchen supply a cook could need. The location is perfect as well, just up the hill from the center of montzuma. We rented an ATV and was so happy with our choice! The house is up a pretty significant hill from the town and we were happy to be able to come and go as we pleased. A suggestion I have to the owner would be to include an optional ATV rental within the nightly rate. This would have been very convenient. If you are considering booking at la Colina de Carolina don't hesitate another moment. The place is perfect and an amazing price!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony
Liked least: The bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam P
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing...Cabin with wonderful view”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed the week of June 1 and it was pure heaven...The views was magnificent and a great location to town. Really clean and just like home.
Beautiful views of the Pacific and the hummingbirds and other varieties of beautiful bird everywhere. We heard the Monkeys near by but did not see them but always knew they were near. Such a neat sound to hear them all start howlering at night....Just a really great place to stay,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Porch
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsrafn09
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beach house”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My significant other and I rented La Colina during the last 5 nights of our trip in Costa Rica. The property was great, well stocked, and had perfect character and charm we were hoping for in a beach house. The view from the large deck is phenomenal and we thoroughly enjoyed many mornings and nights watching the ocean, listening to the sounds, and viewing wildlife. I would definitely recommend renting a quad or if you have a car to help with the hill, although we did walk it several times and it wasn't too bad. Montezuma has great appeal and is very laid back and the house and view are a perfect extension of this vibe. Ginnette the caretaker was very helpful and attentive to our questions and needs. Bladimir the onsite grounds keeper was friendly, courteous, and professional. We had a great time and would definitely stay here again! On a side note, Carol was very willing and helpful in fielding my phone calls and specific questions regarding the property and best ways to get to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonchri...
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“this place was awesome”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It was well stocked with all the necessities you need. Get groceries from the super in town, and save on food. We rented a quad, which we highly recommend, not just to make the trip up hill easier but also to see some of the other parts of the peninsula. You can see the sunrise over the ocean and sunset over the ocean in the same day. Ginette was very helpful with all our needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We felt like we were at our own home with everything we needed.
Liked least: no local phone
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary p
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“La Colina is an oasis for enjoying nature, ocean, adventure and peace.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

La Colina is pure heaven, that's all there is to it! Carolina has created a wonderful home there....the view of the ocean and mountains, the landscaping that attracts a variety of birds, the porch that is furnished for enjoying meals or relaxation in the hammock, the clothes line for drying beach clothes in the warm air, the hot water which is rare in many Costa Rica homes, the kitchen equipped with all the necessities and even a blender and coffee grinder. The washer/dryer is a nice touch, too. Thank you for upgrading the plumbing to accommodate toilet paper! What a luxury! Such care and thought have gone into every detail. We highly recommend La Colina to anyone coming to the Nicoya Peninsula.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the porch!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Reviewed March 31, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MI
Reviewed March 26, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing