We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for value in montezuma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Pacific Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Save
You added Montezuma Pacific Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 17 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best for value in montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for over a week in february. We had spent over two months in Costa Rica and this hotek was by far the best. Carlos, the owner and manager, is always helpful. The hotel is central, yet quiet. It is clean, secure, and you can use the kitchen if you like. Carlos is so obliging that he even volunteered to waive his commision when he booked us a shuttle from Montezuma to Liberia!! The hotel is worth twice the money.

Room Tip: Corner suite, second floor. Room 8, I think. A/C, fridge, flat-screen TV, king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    35
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
63
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great place to stay. One of the most reasonable rates in town. Carlos, the owner speaks very good English and is extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are neat and clean and have A/C. The location is very central and although their is no pool it is only a five minute walk to the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was a fantastic place to stay in Montezuma. The rooms were clean, comfortable and our room had its own terrace and there was a communal terrace also. Close to everything, but far enough back from the road, to be peaceful.

Carlos makes you feel really at home and he has a wonderful outlook. He is a genuine and lovely man. We were greeted with a hug on arrival and the next morning with amazing coffee, enthusiasm and advice. All the people that worked there were very happy and friendly.

I was very happy there and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ST_Trip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Pacific for about 5 nights in Dec 2012. Carlos, the owner, is FANTASTIC! He really made the stay that much more enjoyable.
The hotel is just off of the main street, which makes it quieter than those on the main street. You can leave the hotel and walk 30 seconds to the main street, so it's still very close. And you are very close to the beach (maybe 100m). We had visits from iguanas, cappuchin monkeys, and other criiters while sitting on the communal balcony upstairs.
Our 3 year old daughter was sick during our stay and Carlos was invaluable in helping us get care for her in the next town. He is full of honest advice and has great staff working for him.
The hotel itself is not a 5 star resort....they were renovating when we were there, which the hotel needs a bit. But it's clean, has warm showers, AC, a fridge, parking, is quiet, and is comfortable. And they make a mean cup of coffee, served all day in reception! Our family would easily stay there again if we ever head there again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the main floor are cooler but not necessary, as I think every room has A/C. The upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Carlos, the owner, takes a personal and genuine interest in his guests, and is a wonderful host. This small hotel is kept clean, and has a kind of charm you usually don't expect in an older hotel. A kitchen is provided for guest use. The hotel seems to be under constant improvement with work currently under way on a brick and tile barbeque and oven, also for guest use. Monkeys, iguanas, and numerous birds frequently appear on the property. Hotel is located on the Northeast corner of the one block "downtown" of Montezuma, so access to restaurants, shops, tours and the beach are all within a five minute walk. A truly great value for a low priced hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I have been all over Central America and the Caribbean, and we highly recommend this place. Montezuma is a really nice little town with nice beaches and other activities in the area, but it can be expensive, especially in season. Hotel Montezuma Pacifico is a great value. Carlos, the owner and manager, is a real throwback – he actually wants satisfied customers and will go out of his way to ensure that your stay is as pleasant as possible. Ask about his newly-developed accommodations downstairs as well as Wi-Fi and kitchen access.
This hotel has the advantage of not being directly on a main street, but within walking distance of everything. Montezuma can be a little noisy at night, especially on weekends, but being in this spot is not NEARLY as loud as being on the main streets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBJAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

There were 6 of us traveling to Costa Rica in 2007. We were excited to meet up with our friends from Minnisota & looking forward to spending time together. We made it to Montezume & found this little hotel run by Carlos & his staff.
They were very helpful & we were very relaxed there. Our last night there & 6 days into our month long vacation we were getting ready to have our last dinner when my brother in-law called me up to their room. My sister was in distress & needed medical help. I was shaken to my core because it was a life or death situation & she needed help fast. Carlos took over & got a doctor, a helicopter & personally got our group to San Jose. He also came to visit us while we waited for my sister to recover from surgery. We continued our trip thanks to the quick thinking of Carlos & hope to see our HERO again. Thanks so very much Carlos. We are forever in your debt for saving my sisters life...We were very comfortable at this hotel & it is very convient to the town & beaches. Love it!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srborden57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#13 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
#11 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montezuma Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montezuma Pacific Hotel

Property: Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Address: Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the heart of the charming town of Montezuma. Montezuma Pacific is in a serene location yet right next to the city park and the church, close to all the businesses and the beaches. We offer clean rooms, all with private bathrooms, hot water, A/C, cable TV, in-room safe, mini-fridge and a friendly Costa Rican staff. The hotel also features a common balcony for relaxing, reading, and using free high-speed wireless internet. There are common kitchens and eating areas available for your convenience. We look forward to having you as a guest at Montezuma Pacific! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing