We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxed hotel, in a perfect place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Montezuma for 3 nights, our rooms were directly out to the path in front of the hotel, so ground floor and cooler than upstairs. The place is run by Carlos, who is a very friendly, helpful person and he offers free coffee or tea in his reception area all day long. The rooms were clean and nice, with aircon, although the bathrooms could do with a bit of renovation, the shower tiles are rather stained with hard water residue. Unfortunately there is no breakfast served, even though there is a breakfast area where this could be done, but I suppose the right staff for this is missing. It would make it even nicer if there was breakfast. But you can use the facilities of the kitchen to make your own lunch or breakfast, if you so wish. We felt very safe in this hotel, because there is always someone sitting in front of the hotel, watching the place. This is quite ensuring, so you can leave your stuff and go for walks or hikes and swims, without feeling awkward. Carlos is doing up the inside court of his hotel, to create a nice patio with a grill/oven, a fountain and some funky lighting. Will be interesting to see how that comes out, but building is still going on. We wish you luck and many guests, who will appreciate this very relaxed place, in a great location, near to beach, restaurants, shops and yet quiet at night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SauerkrautHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 144 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel. It's very good value - (not as the rough Guide suggests one of the more expensive places). The owner / Manager Carlos is really friendly, professional and helpful and has been in the town for 28 years. The beds were great, rooms really clean and cleaned daily. You have good hot showers. Free coffee in the morning - a kitchen guests can use (and so keep your costs down so you don't have to eat out all the time). The place is very central but round the back of the park so AWAY from the bustly, sometimes noisy main street.

Room Tip: ground floor room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been to Montezuma multiple times, and every time I stay here, and will continue to do so. It is located 2 blocks from the beach, with AC, wireless, and cable. It is also extremely cheap as compared to the other options in the town, many of which are overpriced simply because they know tourists will pay it.

What really makes the stay however is the owner - he's a really great guy, and will go out of his way to help. Above all though, you get the feeling that he generally is concerned with your well being. For many people uncertainty is what makes traveling the most difficult, and he (Carlos I believe his name is) is happy to provide advice and assistance where needed.

If I'm looking for a negative, this is not a 5 star luxury resort, so if thats what you are looking for go elsewhere.

I for one will stay here everytime

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Montezuma Pacific Hotel is the best deal you can find in the city. It is in a great location (1 min walk away from the beach/all the restaurants and shops) but still nice and quite. The rooms are spacious and clean with air conditioning and hot water. On top of all of this the owner was VERY kind and helpful, he went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay and gave us tips on where to go. I highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bailycara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The owner is a totally awesome and accommodating guy, gave us low-season prices despite it being technically high season, allowed us to use his kitchen to cook, and ended up charging us even a bit less than what he quoted as low season rates.

On top of that, we had two queen beds, super comfy, pristinely clean sheets, great bathroom with a rain-water-fed heated shower, a great, big safe in the room, a fridge, TV with probably 60 or 70 channels, amazing air-con...there was literally nothing else I could have asked for.

It's not a super social place or great place to meet people, so maybe not for you if that's what you're looking for, but it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: I think he prefers that you don't use the kitchen, but if you're on a tight budget, just ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MapleHoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location of this hotel is definitely a plus. Room came with a very good air conditioner, fridge, TV, VERY comfy mattresses, and a private bathroom with a rainfall shower.

But the best part by far is the owner. He was so friendly and helpful! He made sure everything was ok every day, cleaned the room without us asking, was super easy going with pretty much any of our requests (blanket, towels, extra guest, etc.).

Compared to the other places in town this place seemed like a steal (keeping in mind that in high season everywhere is going to be expensive). I'd recommend this to anyone who stays in beautiful Momtezuma!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NFCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We found this hotel randomly, late at night! What a great unexpected surprise: very clean place, hot water, air conditioning, a fridge in your room, a KITCHEN that you can use, a very cute balcony where you can read or eat and the sweetest owner in town! Carlos really care about his guests and their safety. The beach is really close and you are just far enough from the town "noise". Enjoy your stay there!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magali721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Montezuma
822 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Howler Monkey Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
#3 of 28 in Montezuma
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montezuma Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montezuma Pacific Hotel

Address: Town center, to the left of the front of the church, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the heart of the charming town of Montezuma. Montezuma Pacific is in a serene location yet right next to the city park and the church, close to all the businesses and the beaches. We offer clean rooms, all with private bathrooms, hot water, A/C, cable TV, in-room safe, mini-fridge and a friendly Costa Rican staff. The hotel also features a common balcony for relaxing, reading, and using free high-speed wireless internet. There are common kitchens and eating areas available for your convenience. We look forward to having you as a guest at Montezuma Pacific! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing