We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
$60
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Casacolores(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sano Banano Beachside Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Celaje(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Los Mangos(Montezuma)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Luna Llena Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Mar y Cielo(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Amor de Mar(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
97
37
11
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
37
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownergreat locationin townfree tea and coffeeair conditioninghotel pacificohis friendsgreat manthe perfect place to staysan jose
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 146 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We spent four comfortable nights here. Montezuma is all of two or three blocks long and chock full of restaurant,housing and beach choices. There are hostels for backpackers and high-end choices for people who want saunas. This is a reasonable choice for people who want economy along with comfortable mattresses, a/c, wifi and cable. Be aware that you'll need to buy drinking water everywhere.
The prices quoted by other visitors for their rooms may have been low season rates. We paid more. Ymmv.
Also, this part of the coast is experiencing a red tide. If you're coming soon, check whether it's still here.
We were lucky enough to stumble across a turtle conservation station on the beach on a day they were releasing turtles into the ocean. Totally unexpected thrill.
We also loved the waterfall just a ten minute walk from the center of town. The climb is a little harder than I expected, but there's a lovely pool near the beginning of the climb where you can sit in the water and wait for the more intrepid in your party who want to make the whole climb. Remember to wear good shoes, a bathing suit and a hat. Lovely!

Room Tip: Upstairs may be quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0chelletr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Very clean, great location, Carlos the host is very nice and knowledgable. For 45$ a night we had a huge room, with 2 beds, 2 bathrooms, TV and A/C. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHessNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed in Montezuma Pacific for a few nights in November 2011. For approx. 30 US dollars a night had a double room with big private bathroom, aircon, fridge, hot shower, wifi. Room was basic but immaculately clean and comfortable. It was one facing the communal balcony which I mostly had to myself. I spent many a happy hour there watching the wildlife frolicking in the big tree opposite: monkeys, iguanas, squirrels, white-throated magpie jays (made the mistake of feeding them and they got a bit too friendly but got nice photos! :-)). The host, Carlos (I think) was extremely friendly and helpful beyond call of duty. He, for example, made several calls on my behalf trying to find out about bus schedules and road situations and confirming hotel bookings for my forward travel. The location is perfect, just at the end of a little side street off the main street (there is not much more in central Montezuma), so it's quiet but still less than a minute to walk to the restaurants on the main bit and less than 5 min to walk to the beach. Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: I had one facing the communal balcony. Can't really say about the others.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepgiggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Montezuma Pacific is an excellent budget option in this gem of a town. I planned to stay here for a few days but ended up staying for 10 days. The hotel is just one block away from the small strip mall in the downtown and the beach. Although the lobby area and the hallways need to refurbished, the rooms are nice and clean. My room had a refrigerator, A/C, hot water and bright natural fluroscent light – everything in good working order. There is also really good free coffee available all day long.

You also get a chance to see iguanas, squirrels, and other animals from the balcony in the park in front of the hotel. If you get lucky, you may even see a hedgehog.

The owner Carlos is very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjayX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed at M Pacific for a lovely week in rooms 9, and 5. For $30 a night we had a private balcony, air con, a fridge in our room, hot water and our room cleaned whenever we needed. There is free coffee all morning long, and a big kitchen with an oven and blender among other things. Considering the high prices all over this little town, Montezuma Pacific was the reason we stayed so long! The owner is lovely and helpful, and we spotted so many huge lizards, squirrels, birds etc each morning while enjoying our coffee on our private patio. The wifi is really fast, and there is also a large communal patio space available. I would return here in a heartbeat:)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie-363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews