We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Montezuma B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great host”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Very clean, great location, Carlos the host is very nice and knowledgable. For 45$ a night we had a huge room, with 2 beds, 2 bathrooms, TV and A/C. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHessNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    37
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
64
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed in Montezuma Pacific for a few nights in November 2011. For approx. 30 US dollars a night had a double room with big private bathroom, aircon, fridge, hot shower, wifi. Room was basic but immaculately clean and comfortable. It was one facing the communal balcony which I mostly had to myself. I spent many a happy hour there watching the wildlife frolicking in the big tree opposite: monkeys, iguanas, squirrels, white-throated magpie jays (made the mistake of feeding them and they got a bit too friendly but got nice photos! :-)). The host, Carlos (I think) was extremely friendly and helpful beyond call of duty. He, for example, made several calls on my behalf trying to find out about bus schedules and road situations and confirming hotel bookings for my forward travel. The location is perfect, just at the end of a little side street off the main street (there is not much more in central Montezuma), so it's quiet but still less than a minute to walk to the restaurants on the main bit and less than 5 min to walk to the beach. Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: I had one facing the communal balcony. Can't really say about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepgiggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Montezuma Pacific is an excellent budget option in this gem of a town. I planned to stay here for a few days but ended up staying for 10 days. The hotel is just one block away from the small strip mall in the downtown and the beach. Although the lobby area and the hallways need to refurbished, the rooms are nice and clean. My room had a refrigerator, A/C, hot water and bright natural fluroscent light – everything in good working order. There is also really good free coffee available all day long.

You also get a chance to see iguanas, squirrels, and other animals from the balcony in the park in front of the hotel. If you get lucky, you may even see a hedgehog.

The owner Carlos is very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjayX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed at M Pacific for a lovely week in rooms 9, and 5. For $30 a night we had a private balcony, air con, a fridge in our room, hot water and our room cleaned whenever we needed. There is free coffee all morning long, and a big kitchen with an oven and blender among other things. Considering the high prices all over this little town, Montezuma Pacific was the reason we stayed so long! The owner is lovely and helpful, and we spotted so many huge lizards, squirrels, birds etc each morning while enjoying our coffee on our private patio. The wifi is really fast, and there is also a large communal patio space available. I would return here in a heartbeat:)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie-363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed for three nights at Montezuma Pacific Hotel. Carlos, our host was really friendly and welcoming. The rooms were really well equipped and simple. You had all that you needed though, a fridge, a/c, etc. Ask for a room on the balcony and that way you can see the amazing wildlife provided by one big tree right outside the hotel. I.e. monkeys, iguanas, birds, squirrels, etc.
The hotel is also conveniently placed in the centre of town, which makes it easy to walk everywhere.i.e, restaurants, supermarket, waterfall, beach.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room with access to the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is a great place to stay in montezuma. It is quite and clean and close to everything. Carlos, the owner, is a wonderful host.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I came to Costa Rica and Montezuma with a friend for the first time and we stayed at the Montezuma Pacific for 5 days! I loved that it was a block off "downtown," which made it quieter, but it was still so close to the beach. Carlos, the owner/manager was gracious and welcoming as was all the staff! They offer laundry services (vital when you sweat through EVERYTHING in the heat), WiFi, refrigerators in the room, AC (which worked perfectly) and safes in every room. I loved having coffee (free) on the shared balcony each morning and seeing which new animal was "hanging out" in the big tree directly in front of it- squirrels, iguanas, birds and monkeys all greeted me at some point!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellys421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#4 of 18 in Montezuma
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Montezuma
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montezuma Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montezuma Pacific Hotel

Property: Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Address: Town center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the heart of the charming town of Montezuma. Montezuma Pacific is in a serene location yet right next to the city park and the church, close to all the businesses and the beaches. We offer clean rooms, all with private bathrooms, hot water, A/C, cable TV, in-room safe, mini-fridge and a friendly Costa Rican staff. The hotel also features a common balcony for relaxing, reading, and using free high-speed wireless internet. There are common kitchens and eating areas available for your convenience. We look forward to having you as a guest at Montezuma Pacific! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing