We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Killer ceviche!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocolores

Cocolores
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open for lunch 12:00-4:00pmHappy hour 4:00-6:00pmDinner 6:00-10:00pmAbierto almuerzo 12:00-4:00pmHappy Hour 4:00-6:00pmCena 6:00:10:00pm
Moorestown, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Killer ceviche!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Cocolores is a little restaurant near the beach at the end of Montezuma. It is operated by an angry, though charming, punk rock Italian guy who is very energetic and really knows his food. Although it's listed as ecclectic, I would call it Italian, Tuscan, in fact. We had a ceviche that was amazing and unlike anything I've had in Latin America. I have experienced this food in Tuscany, however, and when I asked Angry Italian where he was from he said Livorno. Why am I going on and on about this? Because I used to reside in Florence and this meal brought back some wonderful feelings and memories of my time living there. To me a really wonderful meal is an emotional experience and this definitely did that for me. I would go again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank funkyartmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    111
    26
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome little restaurant right on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I got the steak with red wine sauce and it forever changed my life for the better. The waitstaff was super helpful and full of info about the menu. The atmosphere is off the charts amazing. Best ambiance in Montezuma.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most popular restaurant in Montezuma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I live in Montezuma, and Cocolores is the most popular restaurant here with toursists for good reason... the food is amazing. Travelers who discover Cocolores often come back again and again. It's under-rated on Trip Advisor. Try the "Curry Banano Fish" ... it's truly divine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This restaurant is only open 5-11pm. I had the garlic shrimp with mashed potatoes. So yummy! The shrimp was huge and I ended up not being able to eat all of it. The staff was friendly. It was clean and a beautfully hidden evening dining area at the beach

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a great dinner at Cocolores at the end of August. Great location, great food. There are not many tables so it gets busy. The only small thing lacking (which would make it an excellent experience overall) would be a slightly more attentive restaurant staff. Bring cash - they don't take credit cards. Highly recommend the food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank pdfroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocolores also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cocolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing