We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burritos are pretty good”
Review of The Bakery Cafe

The Bakery Cafe
Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Burritos are pretty good”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I had a chicken burrito for lunch one day and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I did not get a chance to eat there any other time during my trip but I should have! I sat by the mural of the monkeys on the wall.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank marrrrrrrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    76
    25
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Strange experience”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

On a Saturday afternoon we placed the order and then waited and waited until we found out that the cook left the house. The same evening the place was close. Did they reopened?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank V_Pontchartrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hang out with Blue Urraca”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The food is good too. Reasonably priced, friendly staff. Great place to hide out in the afternoon heat- it's surrounded by trees that shade the patio from the heat. The Urraca birds are good entertainment.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gongoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribbean
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“typical Costa Rica - dont care!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Like most of Costa Rica food is not important - just a way to fill you up and get as much money from you as possible. Like most places it was ok! But so what! A million tourist are right behind you - get out of the way!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts, amazing fresh juices”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We ate at the Bakery Cafe two mornings on our recent trip to Zuma and would have returned for a third had they not been closed on Sundays. We hadn't even gotten 1/4 of the way through our first meal when our kids asked if we could come back the next day. Simple yet delicious food in a cool setting, often with monkey sightings right from the table!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newenglandtravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery Cafe also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing