We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing smoothies, lovely breakfast place”
Review of The Bakery Cafe

The Bakery Cafe
Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing smoothies, lovely breakfast place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived for breakfast at this small place and chose a table by the corner of the open balcony. I ordered a papaya smoothie in soy milk, and it was absolutely delicious. My boyfriend had a vegetarian omelet with large, fresh vegetables. I had a large pancake with chocolate and bananas. All of it was very good, as was the coffee. The owner, Luis, was very friendly and introduced us to his family.

Soon we were joined by group of about six blue birds that would inch closer and closer in order to "ask" for food. They were completely unafraid of humans, flying closely over our heads. It was very amusing to watch. Later a group of monkeys dropped by. Truly charming.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    76
    25
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“truly one of a kind!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Ok, this place we could eat at every day for breakfast or lunch (no dinner served) The best coffee and cakes available as well as the ham,onion, & chess pastry that is a must try. they offer fresh mango juice in a bottle that we bought and took back to our villas and made the best smoothies!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank craigvwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of San Marino, San Marino
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“loved it !”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

very nice cafè with friendly staff and reasonable prices. the batidos (fruitshake) are excellent and the food is good. relaxed athmosfere ! highly recommended for a refreshing break when it's too hot to stay on the beach.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ehsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great friendly place”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great little establishment, very friendly owner. Right near the entrance of the main beach, great place for people watching without the amount of noise in the main street. As mentionned in the previous reviews, the baked goods are great, fresh and warm. Highly recommended for a nice lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Really enjoyed the fish tacos and fresh smoothies. The homemade baked good were delicious. Would definitely try this place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mallory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery Cafe also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing