We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spider monkeys”
Review of The Bakery Cafe

The Bakery Cafe
Ranked #11 of 39 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bonsall, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spider monkeys”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The food and juices were fresh and refreshing> I believe this is were we saw the antics of the spider monkeys in the bakery's garden.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ElisaGermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    77
    25
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“stay away from baked goods”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

It's not really fair of me to rate this restaurant as I did need not eat there but I feel I must let you know why. We were looking for a place to get dessert one night and figured what could be bad about a place called The Bakery Cafe? Well we went inside to look at the desserts in the glass case and I saw something very small moving around the doughnuts, then saw even more around the other desserts- lots of tiny bugs, maybe ants, crawling all over. Needless to say we ran out and instead opted for the gelato down the block. I know its hot there and just because of the location near the beach there might be more bugs than usual, but then have a refrigerated case that seals. I'm sure the food may be good but I wasn't about to find out!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank zoegirltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, inexpensive coffee”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

There were so many choices to eat in Montezuma that we only had coffee here, but it was very good and very reasonable. The menu looked like it had good vegan choices as well. We did see capuchin monkeys here our first night in Montezuma.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location but Pricey!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

One pancake is 6dollars.. french toast is the same and u get like 5 small hunks or french toast.. you cant get like a typical breakfast combo u have to buy everything separate and it gets expensive quick. BUT the location is awesome! A lot of people said they saw monkeys there I just was not so lucky to see one! I did see some cool birds tho. As an experience eating here was cool but the price and flavor wasnt compatable..

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Batidos and Baked Goods!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had been driving our quad from Mal Pais to Montezuma to do some shopping and were getting a little hungry in the mid afternoon. So we asked a local woman selling jewelry where we could get the best batido (fresh fruit smoothie) in town. She pointed to the local bakery. So that is where we went. My husband's mouth started watering as soon as he saw the case of baked goods. He set his eyes on a piece of chocolate pie - it was his as soon as he saw it. My daughter and I both just got plain crossaints - these were ok - as I think they heated them in the microwave, which probably would have been better if they hadn't done this. My husband loved his piece of pie. I had a pineapple batido, my daughter had a mango one and my husband had a chocolate banana one. They were all very delicious!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery Cafe also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing