We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, inexpensive coffee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bakery Cafe

The Bakery Cafe
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Carrboro, NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, inexpensive coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

There were so many choices to eat in Montezuma that we only had coffee here, but it was very good and very reasonable. The menu looked like it had good vegan choices as well. We did see capuchin monkeys here our first night in Montezuma.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    76
    24
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location but Pricey!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

One pancake is 6dollars.. french toast is the same and u get like 5 small hunks or french toast.. you cant get like a typical breakfast combo u have to buy everything separate and it gets expensive quick. BUT the location is awesome! A lot of people said they saw monkeys there I just was not so lucky to see one! I did see some cool birds tho. As an experience eating here was cool but the price and flavor wasnt compatable..

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Batidos and Baked Goods!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had been driving our quad from Mal Pais to Montezuma to do some shopping and were getting a little hungry in the mid afternoon. So we asked a local woman selling jewelry where we could get the best batido (fresh fruit smoothie) in town. She pointed to the local bakery. So that is where we went. My husband's mouth started watering as soon as he saw the case of baked goods. He set his eyes on a piece of chocolate pie - it was his as soon as he saw it. My daughter and I both just got plain crossaints - these were ok - as I think they heated them in the microwave, which probably would have been better if they hadn't done this. My husband loved his piece of pie. I had a pineapple batido, my daughter had a mango one and my husband had a chocolate banana one. They were all very delicious!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Nice place, great food! It really gives you that tropical feeling!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank caperuza1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We went here for breakfast and were very pleased with our choice!

First of all, the decor and ambience of this restaurant is perfectly delightful. It is decorated with a focus on nature, which I really enjoyed.

The breakfast was wonderful! I love the typical Costa Rican breakfast and this one did not fail to please. I only wished that the portion was a little bigger, but that's probably the gluttonous side of me talking! The coffee and the fresh fruit juice was also marvelous. One of the best things in Costa Rica has got to be the food and drink!

A great choice for a good breakfast! I imagine that the rest of their food is probably pretty good, too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery Cafe also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing