We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house in rainforest/waterfall setting near beach-oerfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Agua Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agua Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Roselle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in rainforest/waterfall setting near beach-oerfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

House and infinity pool were just perfect, short trip to great town of montezuma and beaches. Nice warm shower, air conditioning and beautiful wood floors with a full kitchen made this a great home for our vacation! The road to the house is typical of the area, suggest a 4X4 if driving.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJaskolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    16
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
54
100
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

A beautiful location with outstanding coastline views while experiencing the native wildlife of the area. Accommodations are wonderful, clean, comfortable, modern, and capture the beauty of the environment. Our hosts were wonderful. Its a great place to relax. Its a good value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiohanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

This is an amazing place. The hosts and owners have created a special place that shows their love for Costa Rica and their desire to please their guests. The rooms are clean, well-appointed and lovingly decorated with art created by Khalida, who is a talented artist. It's very peaceful being away from the hustle and bustle of the main part of Montezuma, but it's easy to get to everything. They couldn't do enough to make my stay enjoyable. Would give this place the highest recommendation for solo travelers, couples and families.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luzita212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

Aguavista is located on a jungle hillside close to the town of Montezuma. It is an amazingly beautiful setting with individual bungalows with a great design aesthetic. Ours had 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, kitchen, an outside shower, and a swimming pool. We woke up every morning to a view of the sunrise over the ocean. We werre treated every day to close up views of a myriad of tropical birds, monkeys, and many other Costa Rican animals. Our hosts, Alex and Khalida, are fantastic. This was one of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed in many years of travel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mead39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

We spent 3 nights in Casa Trogon at the wonderful Agua Vista. It truly felt like we were renting a private villa of our own, but with all the perks of having great hosts who know the area and are more than willing to assist with whatever you need (including arranging tours, recommending places to eat, etc.). Alex and Khalida were truly top of the line hosts.

The house with private plunge pool was fantastic. We really enjoyed being able to have a dip after a hot day at the beach, fishing, hiking, horseback riding, or just walking around town. It was also really nice to have a washing machine to do a quick load to see us through the rest of our trip. The shower is great, beds comfortable, and everything in the kitchen modern and fully functional. We also loved sitting out on the patio, or chilling in the hammock.
On top that, the rates are unbelievable for the quality of accomodation.

It was so nice to be in a secluded, private place, and yet be just a short cab ride up and down the hill to Montezuma ($4).

We had a great time, and would be back in a second if we ever made it to the Nicoya Peninsula again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

Great spot for families. Nice clean basic lodging. Kitchen supplies and utensils are limited but workable. Best wildlife viewing in CR right on your front porch. Keep your camera ready. We found dining in Montezuma to be OK and a tad bit expensive. Make sure to rent a 4 wheeler if you are driving in during the wet season.

One drawback : No internet to the house. You will need to go to the pool or main house area check the email.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinfredva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed a week in the Bamboo Bungalow and were very pleased with the property, location, price and hosts! It is a a 15 minute walk downhill to downtown Montezuma (and a $3 cab ride up the hill if you don't have a car) but this place, in my opinion, is much classier/nicer (that does not break the bank!) than some of the accommodations that we saw in town. Additionally, staying at Agua Vista positions you much closer to the waterfalls. In fact, while we were there, the tide was too high to cross the river initially but Alex was so kind to build a bridge for us! The extra amenities were also very convenient: a dipping pool, a washer machine and free wi-fi to name a few. We would definitely go back to Agua Vista for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaolaM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
3.4 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Vista

Property: Agua Vista
Address: 1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Vista is located in the lush hills above Montezuma, at the bottom of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. We offer stunning views, convenient access to town, and abundant wildlife. Each house, unique, tastefully designed and nestled into the jungle, is clean and comfortable and comes fully equipped. Agua Vista provides the perfect combination of seclusion and accessibility. We look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agua Vista Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing