We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agua Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agua Vista
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I've lived in Costa Rica for the past 8 months and can say hands down this is the best place I have ever stayed. Alex and Khalida we're more than you could ask for as hosts. We stayed in Casa Tragon which was everything we needed and a dipping pool. Agua Vista is the perfect place to have a lazy day or go hike and explore the waterfalls, a 5 min dive from town and about 45 minutes from Santa Teresa you won't run out of things to do. Also of note is the amount of wild life around the villa, we saw toucans, coati, monkeys and go figure, a tragon. Anxiously awaiting a return trip. An absolute jewel. Don't think, book it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGarrettson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaVistaCR, Owner at Agua Vista, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are so lucky to have such lovely people stay with us. Come visit us again - since you live here in CR!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    15
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
52
100
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I've been coming to Montezuma for 5 years and this property is my favorite property in all of Costa Rica. Whether you are a solo traveler, or with a group and need a few homes, this is the place to be. The view on the hill is breathtaking, the owners are amazing, you feel as if you have been friends with them for years, and the wild life is more abundant than most national parks. The homes are cleaned daily, and the outdoor showers make you feel as if you are one with nature. Two houses have dipping pools and the property has a gorgeous infinity pool. We just had our wedding in Montezuma and the owners accommidated and helped us with our special day. Be prepared to see monkies, butterflies, and fish from their ponds. The waterfall is close and they have a private trail to it! It's the perfect spot for couples, families, retired people who want to relax, and yoga retreats. You will feel like a new person after you stay here, it is paradise. You can have a car or walk into town takes 20 minutes, or take a cheap taxi, nights are cool and days are full of sunshine. Thanks for an amazing experience. I will continue to come back to Costa Rica just to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turndog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaVistaCR, Owner at Agua Vista, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
What can I say? We adore hosting you on every occasion and we look forward to seeing you again soon! It has been such a gift to have gotten to know you over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Absolutely loved this place. We stayed in Casa Morfo when we first arrived in Costa Rica on a 3 week trip and found it the perfect place to relax, unwind and plan our itinerary. It was so quiet, with lovely views and wildlife all around you. We particularly liked waking up really early to sit on the patio, watch the day dawn and hear all the noises from the birds and monkeys!
Facilities wise Aqua Vista has all you need and Alex and Khalida are lovely and more than happy to help if you need anything.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeymourP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsound, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I spent a week in Bamboo Bungalow in February as finale to our 3+ week trip to Costa Rica. It was just perfect, with the open-air shower being a particular delight! I don't know what else I can add to everything that has been said before, except to reemphasize that we saw more wildlife from our deck at Aguavista than anywhere else! In fact, we've been home for 3 weeks and I still wake up every morning wishing I could have my coffee there! Alex and Khalida are the greatest hosts, with an answer for pretty much everything we needed or wanted. To say they made us feel "at home" is an understatement!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lconorcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaVistaCR, Owner at Agua Vista, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you! Wonderful words, indeed, from such seasoned travelers. We hope to see you again if you make another trip to Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at Agua Vista (in Casa Morpho) in February and absolutely loved it! While in Costa Rica we visited Cabo Blanco, Corcovado, and Quetzels National Parks and also the Curu Preserve.......and yet we saw more wildlife (more closely) at Casa Morpho and along the driveway in than at all those parks COMBINED! Coatimundi, tamandua, toucans, eagles howler monkeys, capuchins, kisskadees, various colibri, iguanas, pygmy owls, puffbirds, blue morphos, and more. My advice.....book a week at Agua Vista and just hang out for your wildlife experience. The accommodations are first rate, the hosts are super friendly, and you won't need to deal with the overused parks.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaVistaCR, Owner at Agua Vista, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Oh yes, oh hum :) THANK YOU! I have quoted you now on several occasions when guests have asked about going to the National Park. We hope you can make it back someday - and come in November, the wildlife is really overwhelming then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I found Auga Vista on tripadvisor.ca last year and based on the reviews, booked a week in February 2014. We were not disappointed. In fact, Agua Vista exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be back! The propertyand grounds are beautiful and Casa Morpho was perfectly situated with spectacular mountain and ocean views. I'm not usually an early riser but we didn't want to miss a moment of the day. We were up at sunrise having coffee on the porch listening and watching the jungle wake up. Plenty of wildlife literally on your doorstep. Casa Morpho was charming and exactly what we were looking for in accommodations. The open air outdoor feel of the house and the porch and private plunge pool were awesome! The kitchen is fully equipped (we used the blender often!) and we loved the full size fridge! We were concerned that the house was not air conditioned but it was a non issue - the fans provide ample air flow, There is plenty to do in the area and we rented an ATV with the help of Khalida and Alex. So many lovely beaches to explore in the Montezuma area and the quad was perfect for touring around. Make sure to hike to the river and waterfall on the property. The koi pond is beautiful and a relaxing place to sit and enjoy the fish.

Khalida and Alex were gracious hosts and very helpful. Khalida was a pleasure to deal with when making reservations and my e-mail questions were promptly answered. Alex recommended we try Soda La Naranja in town - which we probably wouldn't have considered otherwise - it turned out to be our best meal in Montezuma! Cocolores was another great dining experience on the beach! Puggos was a disappointment this year and we didn't have time to get to Playa de los Artistas...next time!

We will definitely be back! Thank you for a beautiful vacation!

Cheers guys,

Kevin & Tracy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaVistaCR, Owner at Agua Vista, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend in February and we had an amazing stay! we stayed in the 2 bed property (casa carimbo??) which has a great sea view from the veranda and ample living space. the quality of the accommodation was excellent - the rooms were spacious, there were hot showers and the kitchen was exceptionally well stocked. we found ourselves spending most of the time on the patio though, admiring the views from the hammock or chairs and checking out the wildlife. appreciated having a decent wireless signal in the villa - I like nature and so forth, but I've got to be able to keep in touch with the news at home!

the location does necessitate a car (or taxi journeys), but once you've done the journey a couple of times, the drive is fine.

the hosts are really what make the place and you really feel like their guests. they were very helpful with recommendations for the area and we particularly appreciated them coming over to our villa to show us a collection of howler monkeys in the trees on the property! the nature there is stunning and makes it a true jungle experience. when in costa rica, I recommend staying here. thing is ... your here for the nature and for the price point, I don't think you could do any better in terms of accommodation. the place is really eco friendly and you feel very much at home. definitely a great option for longer stays, too.

thanks guys for your great hosting. see you again one day (preferably in costa rica, but if not, in London!)

cheers

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam85London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguaVistaCR, Owner at Agua Vista, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review - oh you guys! Best for you to come back to Costa Rica... London is too cold :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.8 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#13 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Vista

Property: Agua Vista
Address: 1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Vista is located in the lush hills above Montezuma, at the bottom of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. We offer stunning views, convenient access to town, and abundant wildlife. Each house, unique, tastefully designed and nestled into the jungle, is clean and comfortable and comes fully equipped. Agua Vista provides the perfect combination of seclusion and accessibility. We look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agua Vista Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing