We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to experience Montezuma”
Review of Agua Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agua Vista
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a full week at Cariblanco with our 2 friends, and loved it. The house is clean and comfortable, a perfect set up to enjoy indoor/outdoor livng. Alex and Khalida's hospitality and helpfulness made every difference. We saw white face money's daily, and heard the howler's barking every morning. The pool and beautiful tropical grounds were amazing. Heaven! You will probably need a car or cabs (cheap here) if you plan to visit town frequently, since the walk down to town is downhill and would be a challenge coming back up, especially after dark. If you love the remote, rugged beauty of Montezume, this is a wonderful way to enjoy it. We'll be returning, next time for longer than a week!

Room Tip: All the houses at Aguavista are great--there is no one better than the others--the only difference i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ticorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 211 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our family of 4 with two boys ages 4 and 9 stayed at Agua Vista this past December at Casa Morfo. The cabin was beautiful and was only upstaged by the stunning natural beauty surrounding the place. Alex and Khalida were helpful and friendly. The path to the waterfalls from the property was one of the highlights of our trip (even though we did get lost for a bit!). The only negative was that we only stayed 3 nights. We will be returning to Costa Rica again in March and if we end up in Montezuma again, this will definitely be where we stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tecmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

The bungalow we stayed it was beautiful, with stunning views of the ocean and rainforest. You could hear the waterfalls from our room. The place was very clean and very nicely laid out. The family that ran the accommodation were so lovely and extremely helpful. And it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quinnashleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We're back from a several week tour of northwest Costa Rica, and Montezuma and Agua Vista were our favorite part of the trip. We stayed in Casa Morpho, and it suited our family of three perfectly. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The outdoor living space was wonderful--I enjoyed reading morning and evenings on the outside couch, we ate our dinners on the outside dining table, my daughter fell asleep after busy days in the hammock, and the plunge pool was amazing. Despite the heat and humidity, the fans above the beds kept us perfectly cool at night. Our day at the waterfall was my husband's favorite in Costa Rica. The wildlife around our casita was abundant--we had to shut our door one morning to keep the coati out! Finally, better hosts couldn't be found than Alex and Khalida. Our trip was originally planned for June, but when my daughter broke her collarbone several days before our trip, Khalida responded quickly and was so thoughtful and helpful in allowing us to rebook for dates a month later. We enjoyed chatting with them daily and they made us feel perfectly at home. Our daughter loved swimming in their big pool, too! Even though it was our first stop and we were anxious to see more of Costa Rica, we couldn't help but extend our stay by another night. We highly recommend Agua Vista!

Room Tip: Casa Morpho was my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed in Casa Morpho and had a great time. The view is amazing, the house is perfect, and the hosts are warm and welcoming! We spent more time than we expected just sitting in the hammock or couch on the porch enjoying the view, playing cards, and laughing. And the price can't be beat... would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We just came back from a trip to Montezuma where we stayed in Agua Vista on the top of the hill off the village. When we arrived we were first hesitant because the road to the hotel area is quite bumpy, but don't be misguided by this road.. we arrived at this magical place around 1 PM and chilled by the infinity pool for a while watching the amazing sea sight. At this time we were not only greeted by our lovely hosts Alex and Khalida but also by Coati's, Agouti's several howler monkeys, a great amount of butterflies and spectacular birds. I think, I saw more animals in this hour than in my whole 3 month stay in Costa Rica. We enjoyed this place so much we are going back next week!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriblanco house which is very big, has amazing sea sight and has A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Montezuma. Our little house (Blue Morpho) was perfect! The personal pool was a fun way to occasionally unwind with a beer and the outdoor shower was pretty cool too. Everything was well appointed; we had everything to cook a meal and even got a little Costa Rican goodie basket on our arrival. Alex and Khalida went out of their way to make sure our fridge was stocked with beverages (since it was a non-alcoholic holiday weekend) and even gave us fresh mangos every day. I loved that we were so close to the falls and were visited each day by coatis and monkeys. It was the ideal location, just a short trip down the road to the town, but far enough away that everything felt private and quiet. Thank you so much for offering such a wonderful place for us to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
1.2 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Montezuma
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
#4 of 28 in Montezuma
100 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Howler Monkey Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Vista

Address: 1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range: $40 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Vista is located in the lush hills above Montezuma, at the bottom of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. We offer stunning views, convenient access to town, and abundant wildlife. Each house, unique, tastefully designed and nestled into the jungle, is clean and comfortable and comes fully equipped. Agua Vista provides the perfect combination of seclusion and accessibility. We look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agua Vista Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing