We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rough road, then...an oasis”
Review of Agua Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agua Vista
Denver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“rough road, then...an oasis”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were searching for a place in/near Montezuma during a week long journey through Costa Rica. Agua Vista caught our eye due to its many excellent reviews and inexpensive rate. Our journey to Agua Vista was a long one...beginning from Poas, through Puntarenas, the ferry to Paquera and on to Montezuma. Needless to say, we were tired when we arrived and weren't especially happy about the long, winding, and bumpy road that leads to Agua Vista. (If there is one down side to this establishment it is the road in and out, which we found a bit frustrating to navigate.)
When we were shown our rooms I was impressed. Spacious, spotless, great shower and a nice view. It had a nice, comfortable feel and a secluded feel. (The wifi was not working during our two days which contributed to the secluded feel.)
The rooms are essentially in the jungle and we hiked to a waterfall on the nearby trail. It wasn't the easiest trail to hike, so bring solid shoes if you do it...but it was worth the journey. We were able to see monkeys in the trees, which was cool and exciting. From that hike we ended up in Montezuma, so I suppose it is correct to say that it is walking distance to Montezuma, though it wasn't a journey we'd do regularly.
The pools at Agua Vista are great too and we enjoyed a relaxed swim after our hike.
Travelers looking for a little more 'action at your fingertips' may not enjoy Agua Vista, because it is more secluded...but with such a great cost and the proximity to the outdoors it is a steal for you more adventurer/explorer types and those that want to be close to the action...but not too close.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztraveler1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    16
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
54
100
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2012

WOW! Agua Vista exceeded our expectations. Breathtaking views, great pools, tons of wildlife and access to the montezuma waterfalls and rope swing...they have it all. Great location too...only 10 minutes from town. We were warmly welcomed by Alex and Khalida. They were always happy to answer questions and willing to help book any adventure. One evening Alex came over to show us a tree full of white faced monkeys, which can be hard to find. We stayed at Casa Trogan and it had everything we needed.
I highly recommend staying at Agua Vista when visiting the Montezuma area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COfreeride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Alex, Khalida and their charming daughters exceeded our expectations by far, we went to Costa Rica seeking vacation time, surfing and alternative healing. The Casa Cariblanco that we rented not only had amazing views, but it made us feel as though we were right at home. Alex and Khalida know everyone in the area and gave us great information and insight for all our needs in Montezuma. Including surfing, taxi drives and healing (they happen to live right next to a world renown healer that helped us in a life changing manor!!!) It was like being at Aguavista was meant to be for us.
Between the ocean view, daily monkey migration trough the yard, the relaxing pool and comfortable surroundings Aguavista made for the perfect stay in Costa Rica.
I would highly recommend this stay to anyone… we will return someday :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siguatepeque, Honduras
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Agua Vista and stayed at the Casa Trogon. Wonderful hosts, beautiful place, everything was perfect! Close to Montezuma, but such a peaceful environment. Great restaurant recommendation too - Playa de las Artistas just outside of Montezuma. Thanks again!

Room Tip: Casa Trogon had a wonderful view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBettney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for five nights at Agua Vista. It was our first getaway sans kids so we were really looking for a relaxing vacation mixed with a bit of adventure. Montezuma, and more specifically our stay at Agua Vista was the perfect fit! We were warmly greeted by Alex and Khalida during our morning arrival and were so pleased with the welcoming, clean, private cabin. We selected Casa Morfo specifically because we wanted the plunge pool. We debated whether to go with an Air Con option but in the end, the plunge pool trumped the air conditioning. It turns out we made the right decision because there was always a pleasant breeze in the late evening and early morning and with open windows and a ceiling fan, we were very comfortable at night. We were psyched about the ocean views and secluded location. Our cabin had a lovely welcome basket with a supply of coffee that kept us well stocked for the entire trip. We appreciated the daily housekeeping service and the cabin was stocked with everything we needed (microwave, wine opener, laundry soap). The trails around the property were well-marked and easy to navigate and we were thrilled to learn that there's an easy trail to the waterfalls right from the property. After spending the day riding around to different beaches with the Quad we rented, it was so lovely to return to Agua Vista to soak in the lnfinite pool and lounge in the pool-side hammack. In the evenings my husband and I would enjoy the sounds of the jungle as we sat on our private porch playing cards. We appreciated that Agua Vista was up on the hill away from the traffic of Montezuma and it's tucked way off the busy road which it a giant bonus (and puts this place above and beyond most of the rental properties that are just off the dusty road). Alex and Khalida are fabulous hosts! They were happy to answer our questions about sightseeing, hikes, roadtrips, and restaurants. This was our first trip to CR, and we can't wait to return. Agua Vista went BEYOND our expectations and you will be so pleased with your choice to stay here. Whether you are planning a couples getaway, trip with friends, or a vacation with your children, this place is fantastic for everyone! Just a few takeaways: Bring enough water if you plan to do the 4 hr (roundtrip) hike in the nearby Nat'l Park, bring eye-gear if you plan to rent a quad (roads are dusty in the dry season), be sure to stop at the Cabuya Panaderia (best chocolate cake and amazing food and smoothies), check out the beaches around Santa Theresa & Playa Hermosa (but make Agua Vista your home-base).

Room Tip: Casa Morfo was seemed to have some of the best views and was one of the most private. Also had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEinLoveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed three days at Casa Morfo and it was a wonderful experience. Very relaxing and the wildlife from the pool/deck area is great. We saw many different birds and butterflies. The casa was spotless and very private. The road up to Agua Vista is a bit rough and I would not want to walk back from town, but if you take it slow...all will be well. Great value for the cottage. The afternoons on the deck that were too hot for much but sitting back and relaxing, was perfect. Nice place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Everything you have read is true. Alex and Khalida are excellent hosts. This is a wonderful place to stay

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.7 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
4.7 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#4 of 18 in Montezuma
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Montezuma
795 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Vista

Property: Agua Vista
Address: 1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Vista is located in the lush hills above Montezuma, at the bottom of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. We offer stunning views, convenient access to town, and abundant wildlife. Each house, unique, tastefully designed and nestled into the jungle, is clean and comfortable and comes fully equipped. Agua Vista provides the perfect combination of seclusion and accessibility. We look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agua Vista Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing