We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Food with a View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de los Artistas

Playa de los Artistas
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Mediterranean, South American, Central American, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I had lunch here on a Saturday (the only day they're open for lunch) and couldn't have been more pleased. The menu changes daily and is explained to the table in detail when you are seated. It's written in Spanish, but can be translated into English if your party isn't fluent. There are many fish and vegetarian options. We had the mahi mahi ceviche, chile relleno, and wood-fired mushrooms. All were delicious, as were the cocktails and the local Craft Brewing Co. beers. Our server was knowledgeable and pleasant and the service was attentive.

Oh, and many of the tables are located directly on the beach, under a grove of coconut trees. Truly magical location. The only downside is that the restaurant is located up a steep, dusty hill just outside of town. But, you can use the exercise as an excuse to order whatever you'd like!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelsam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    71
    41
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
212 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Quirky and wonderful; one watch-out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

CASH ONLY. As is the case for many (almost all?) restaurants in this area, they do not accept any form of payment except cash. This is an expensive restaurant, so you will need to come with lots of cash. Everything was great, starting with the unique cocktails. What they serve each night depends on what they can get. It's a ton of fun. The place is beautiful, and very quirky. If that appeals to you, you will have a great time here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Not only the best food in town, but the best setting as well. We had ceviche, goat cheese & beets, roasted chicken, and pasta. All were delicious!

The service was typical CR slow - 2 hours for our dinner but who is in a hurry anyway? Plus you are right ON the beach.

Be sure to reserve ahead or you will miss out!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cRoss55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

A great experience. You can really feel they love what they do, and the result is, great tastes and a calm and peace environment. So recommended! My favorite in Montezuma.

Helpful?
Thank Anton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best spot in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place is great in every way. We ate here two nights out of three and both nights were really busy, however the service was really efficient and we hardly waited for the food. All the dishes we tried were excellent especially the fish in curry and banana sauce. Also do a happy bout from 4-6 which is a great spot for sundowners.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LittleLozUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing