We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic”

Playa de los Artistas
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Florence, Oregon
1 review
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

beautiful location, close to the ocean (apx. 1m), excellent food (owner seems to be italian), amazing argentinian waitresses, check it out ... really cool!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 604amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    79
    48
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

It was simply a beautiful meal - the setting was very romantic on the beach at sunset was an extra bonus. Our server was great and took her time explaining every single thing on the menu and we ordered about 4 courses worth and she made sure to take the appropriate amount of time in between and gave us great suggestions on what to order to compliment our tastes. The portions are not overwhelmingly large so order a few different plates and spoil yourself with a variety of different tastes but make sure you save room for dessert!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 52Cat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Moon over the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Absolutely wonderful meal overlooking the sea. An extraordinarily romantic dining experience. We lucked out that there was a moonrise just as we sat down. Well worth the bumpy ride into town from the nearby resorts. Best meal I had in Costa Rica

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHKramerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Tican Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you eat anywhere on the Nicoya Peninsula, you have to eat here.

Tucked away on the beach, blink and you will miss the entrance, this is one of the best restaurants in the whole of Costa Rica.

With the wave lapping the shore just a couple of metres in front of you, the culinary delights are to die for.

Everything is freshly prepared and beautifully presented

The wine list is outstanding

Simply put, this place is PERFECT

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bertie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best desserts ever...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a group go here for my boyfriend's birthday dinner, and as a whole the meal was really good, the setting was romantic as it was right on the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful and got our food out to us quickly. The stand out of the dinner (for me) was the dessert…it was by far one of the best desserts I've had in a long time. I'm not sure if it's always on the menu, but it was the molten lava cake. It was more like a chocolate soufflé and was done to perfection. The others in the group had the ice cream with fruit (I can't remember which fruit) and they all agreed it was excellent also.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing